life posts

Top 13 Books of 2013!

Hey guys! 2013 was such a great year to me. I get to room with my best friend, I got a job working in a bookstore, and I got to know so many more wonderful bloggers. I know there will only be more great things to come on the horizon. I already have more posts planned for this blog and I really want to get to know more bloggers and make new friends this year! So come and chat with me about your favorite books of 2013!

This is one of the last books that I read this year and it’s one I was looking forward to for a while before I actually got my hands on it. With Sherlock Holmes’ niece and Bram Stoker’s sister solving crimes, it couldn’t be anything less than fantastic. I really can’t wait to read book two!

This book really surprised me because I didn’t think I could love another vampire book but this is so well-done. With incredible world building and interesting, complex characters, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is still stuck with me months after I read it!

I just had to include this book! Tangled is currently my all-time favorite movie (and Rapunzel is my favorite Disney princess!) so I just had to get my hands on all of the beautiful concept art done for the film. I loved seeing the changes made to the characters as the storyline developed into the great movie it is today! Just looking at the cover makes me want to watch the move again!

I started this series and fell in love with it. I’ll be see to see it go but I can’t wait to see what happens next! Both of these books were so awesome and captivating so I had to include them as a two in one. Go start this series! It’s so great!

What else did I become obsessed with during 2013? Rise of the Guardians. I cannot express how much love I have for this movie and how much joy the book series brings me as well. The books are so beautifully written and have such magical creativity it’s impossible not to love them, even if you’re only a kid at heart.

This book surprised me because I expected to like it, never to love it. Reboot was filled with great characters and so much action I just couldn’t put the book down! I highly recommend it!

This is another book that came out of nowhere and blew my mind. I don’t read books about aliens often. This one is so full of twists and turns, I never knew what was going to happen next. With an ending like this book had, I need to get the next book as soon as possible. I need it!

I waited SO long for this book to come out. Years passed between the time I read and reviewed book one and then finally, FINALLY got my hands on this sequel. Who knows how long I’ll anxiously need to wait for the next installment? I was so glad this book didn’t disappoint because I had so much time to build up my expectations!

It took me longer than it should have to pick up Cinder and immediately afterward I had to go out and grab Scarlet, the sequel, which I loved even more than book 1! The next book comes out this year and I just can’t wait to see what’s in store, especially because it’ll include a twist on Rapunzel!

This is the third book in the Goblin Wars trilogy. I loved every book and this conclusion was just fantastic. While I’m sad to see it go, I’m happy knowing how it was all wrapped up in the end. These books were just lovely and the Irish mythology incorporated made them more awesome.

I read this book, I loved this book, and I haven’t gotten to the sequel yet, probably because I loved this book so much that I just can’t imagine what might happen next and where the story could go. It’s a great book; describing it myself won’t do all of the fantastic elements of it justice. Read it because you’ll love it, too, and then we can discuss it!

I love anything and everything that has to do with Peter Pan so of course I needed to pick up this book this year. While it was nothing like I expected, it was still incredibly intriguing and I loved it a lot. I think any fan of Peter Pan will love this story of Tiger Lily, told from Tinkerbell’s perspective.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone is one of my all-time favorite reads and this year I got to read the sequel! Unfortunately, the third book is taking forever to come out, so I’ll settle for reading the first two books over and over until I get to know what’s going to happen. I have a mighty need.

What were your favorite books this year? What should I read next year?

One thought on “Top 13 Books of 2013!

  1. Glad The Grisha Trilogy made it to your list, I love those books so much! I’m planning to read The Coldest Girl in Coldtown because it sounds promising 😀 Great list! Btw, happy new year 🙂

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

