5 stars

Movie Review: Frozen

Frozen is a movie I’ve been looking forward to ever since I heard that Disney was making such a film. I’m a huge fan of almost anything Disney and tried not to get my expectations too high with this; there were so many people predicting it would fail even before it was released! Yet Frozen was so great, I needed to go and see it twice. Now it’s my second favorite Disney movie, right behind Tangled (sorry, but it’s going to take a miracle to make me like something more than I love Rapunzel and Eugene). Watching the movie, I couldn’t decide which sister I liked and related to more, Elsa or Anna.

Before I saw the movie I immediately assumed that I’d love Anna. Her personality reminds me of Rapunzel, as she’s a bubbly princess who can’t wait to spread her wings and live a life outside of the confines she’s been trapped by. But Elsa exemplifies every insecurity that someone could have and by having a part of herself she’s ashamed of, her powers, that could be taken to represent almost anything that can make a person feel rejected and completely alone . . . I could really empathize with her and I wanted to see her succeed and be free, whether or not she’d be able to in Arendelle. Both sisters were awesome in the movie and I absolutely love how Frozen portrayed that sisterly love and the bond of family. I loved both Elsa and Anna and still refuse to choose between the two!

Kristoff was absolutely amazing! I love how he looks and acts different from the Disney guys who have been prevalent before now. I didn’t even mind his unnatural attachment to reindeer. I would have loved to have heard more of his back story, though, and hope that it is explained further somewhere. It would have been nicer to know more about him to be able to connect further to his character. But, you know, I loved him anyway.

Possibly the best surprise for me was Olaf. I really didn’t know what I was going to think of him as a goofy sidekick, maybe just there for bad humor. He was with Sven in the teaser trailer ages ago and I thought he was cute, if a little odd. But Olaf easily won my heart and had me laughing more than I ever imagined he could. He could switch between being completely ridiculous to a sweet snowman who has dreams that seem impossible. Olaf is cute, he’s loyal, and he doesn’t let anybody or anything (let alone being a snowman) hold him back. And I love him for it.

If you haven’t seen Frozen yet, I don’t know what you’re waiting for! I was tempted to see it again but think that I might be able to handle the wait until March to grab the DVD for myself so I can watch it over and over . . and over and over. This is going to be a favorite of mine for years.

(P. S. Did you guys see Rapunzel and Eugene in Arendelle during the movie? I thought it was an awesome easter egg thrown in!)

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

