5 stars

Movie Review: Saving Mr. Banks

Saving Mr. Banks is another movie I’ve been looking forward to for ages! I’ve always loved Mary Poppins, the Disney movie, and I’m currently reading the first book so that I can see exactly what Disney did with the text and enjoy the story from another angle. There were so many characters in this movie, based on real people, that were amazingly portrayed and really made me want to research further to see more about how Mary Poppins was made!

Every little piece of the film was picked over by the author. My absolute favorite part of the movie was the very end and happened during the credits. They played real recordings of the meetings between P. L. Travers and the team who was creating the movie. Even in those short clips I could see how closely Emma Thompson mimicked the way Travers spoke and the phrases she would use. Throughout the movie Thompson portrayed Travers beautifully and this ending only further cemented my love of this casting.

I was also very excited to see Tom Hanks portray Walt Disney. He’s one of my favorite actors and he didn’t disappoint. Sometimes it’s harder for me to see big name actors as anything but themselves. Hanks truly made me forget about him so I could focus instead on his portrayal and it was both exciting and wonderful.

I really loved this movie and can safely say it was one of my favorite movies of 2013. It was nothing like I expected it to be and yet I think that made me love it more. I didn’t know much of the movie would be flashback, showing Travers’ life and the motivations behind her storytelling and why she is so adamant about getting Mary Poppins down in the right way, exactly the way she wants it to be shown. I also loved seeing all of the little connections between this movie and the storytelling within it and Mary Poppins. I rewatched the movie the day after going to see this and was able to notice so many little details that had never meant much to me before but had obviously meant a lot to Travers.

If you haven’t seen this movie yet I really encourage you to go out and see it. This is a wonderful story told in the best way and I enjoyed every minute of it.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Saving Mr. Banks

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

