2 stars · young adult

Lost Voices by Sarah Porter

Lost Voices

Lost Voices #1

author : sarah porter

pages : [hardcover] 291

memorable quote: I think at first I wanted to kill all of them. Everyone. Because if there were no people left alive, then I’d never have to love one of them again.

summary

What happens to the girls nobody sees—the ones who are ignored, mistreated, hidden away? The girls nobody hears when they cry for help?
Fourteen-year-old Luce is one of those lost girls. After her father vanishes in a storm at sea, she is stuck in a grim, gray Alaskan fishing village with her alcoholic uncle. When her uncle crosses an unspeakable line, Luce reaches the depths of despair. Abandoned on the cliffs near her home, she expects to die when she tumbles to the icy, churning waves below. Instead, she undergoes an astonishing transformation and becomes a mermaid.
A tribe of mermaids finds Luce and welcomes her in—all of them, like her, lost girls who surrendered their humanity in the darkest moments of their lives. The mermaids are beautiful, free, and ageless, and Luce is thrilled with her new life until she discovers the catch: they feel an uncontrollable desire to drown seafarers, using their enchanted voices to lure ships into the rocks.
Luce’s own talent at singing captures the attention of the tribe’s queen, the fierce and elegant Catarina, and Luce soon finds herself pressured to join in committing mass murder. Luce’s struggle to retain her inner humanity puts her at odds with her friends; even worse, Catarina seems to regard Luce as a potential rival. But the appearance of a devious new mermaid brings a real threat to Catarina’s leadership and endangers the very existence of the tribe. Can Luce find the courage to challenge the newcomer, even at the risk of becoming rejected and alone once again?
Lost Voices is a captivating and wildly original tale about finding a voice, the healing power of friendship, and the strength it takes to forgive.

review:

I’ve been looking for a really good mermaid book to read for a while and I don’t think that I found it in Lost Voices.

I’ve always been fascinated with mermaids. Whether they’re cute and helpful or deadly and love drowning people, it’s interesting to read about them. Authors can take any approach they want with the mythology and this one was lacking for me. I was interested in Luce and her transformation but there were too many instances where it felt like I was reading about high school drama among mermaids. Sure, I think the oldest of them appears to be sixteen but there are some who have been living decades longer. I don’t think that just because appearances don’t change they wouldn’t have learned anything, like how to settle petty differences, stick together, make sure that no one gets left out where they might die.

There’s a part of me that really wants to continue with these books to see what happens. I want to know where Luce will end up, if she matures, if the mermaids will ever pay attention to the larvae and stop the orcas from eating them. But my library doesn’t have the next book and I don’t really plan on paying to continue this series. Book one was enjoyable to read but ending up dragging at the end. When I stopped to look back on what I read I realized I kept on hoping that things would clear up and something more substantial would happen with the plot.

I guess the thing that bothered me most about this book was that Porter decided to go with mermaids that kill people. That’s fine. What isn’t is that it seems like these girls are only doing it for fun, for no good reason, and they’ll do so even when it endangers themselves and the existence of mermaids everywhere.

If you’re looking for a great mermaid read, I’d say maybe look elsewhere and pick this up if you have nothing else to do and are looking for an easy read.

2/5 stars

If you like this book you might also like Real Mermaids Don’t Wear Toe Rings or Lies Beneath

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

