young adult

Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

Crash Into You

Pushing the Limits #3
Book 1: Pushing the Limits
Book 2: Dare You To

author : katie mcgarry

pages : [hardcover] 474

favorite character : isaiah

memorable quote I can’t give you the world, Rachel, but I’ll give you all I got.

summary :

From acclaimed author Katie McGarry comes an explosive new tale of a good girl with a reckless streak, a street-smart guy with nothing to lose, and a romance forged in the fast lane

The girl with straight As, designer clothes and the perfect life-that’s who people expect Rachel Young to be. So the private-school junior keeps secrets from her wealthy parents and overbearing brothers…and she’s just added two more to the list. One involves racing strangers down dark country roads in her Mustang GT. The other? Seventeen-year-old Isaiah Walker-a guy she has no business even talking to. But when the foster kid with the tattoos and intense gray eyes comes to her rescue, she can’t get him out of her mind.

Isaiah has secrets, too. About where he lives, and how he really feels about Rachel. The last thing he needs is to get tangled up with a rich girl who wants to slum it on the south side for kicks-no matter how angelic she might look.

But when their shared love of street racing puts both their lives in jeopardy, they have six weeks to come up with a way out. Six weeks to discover just how far they’ll go to save each other.

review :

I was so excited to read this book because Katie McGarry is one of my favorite authors who writes contemporary young adult novels. I usually don’t go for books like this but I just love the way she crafts the story around the characters, presents unconventional relationships, and creates suspense and drama without the story feeling over the top. I really enjoyed reading Crash Into You. Although it’s daunting at over 400 pages it honestly didn’t feel like I was reading that much because of how engrossed in the plot I was! That said, I do feel like this is my least favorite of the three companion books so far. Perhaps because some of the characters were frustrating to me.

This book focuses on Isaiah, who appeared as a minor character in both of the other books, and Rachel, who’s new. I loved getting to know more about Isaiah, his past, and being able to understand him better because the book focuses him and his feelings as he deals with different situations. Rachel was a little bland for me, compared to the female leads in the other two books, but I also enjoyed how passionate she was about cars. I could empathize with her feeling restricted but her family was just very difficult to read about. The entire dynamic there was messed up and her brothers were so infuriating. I hated the way they behaved toward her, even when they knew she was sick. I’ve heard that one of her brothers, West, and I’m definitely going to read it. But his character better have some major changes coming his way because his attitude just makes me angry.

Another thing that bothered me was the instalove between Rachel and Isaiah. Sure, I definitely feel like it blossomed into more, but there was too much going on too soon especially because Rachel is always paranoid about how everything looks to her family. It didn’t make sense to me, how they immediately felt this connection after they’d barely talked and definitely didn’t know each other.

Despite those faults, Crash Into You was a book I couldn’t put down. Katie McGarry has pulled out another book that I really enjoyed, even if I’m hoping I like the next book more than I liked this one. I’ll just need to wait and see!

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

  1. McGarry is truly an amazing author. I fell in love with Isaiah and Rachel very early on. I felt like I had an invested interest in these two and had such a difficult time pulling myself away from the book. We already know Isaiah (if we’ve read either of the other books), but it was such a treat getting to know him more. I loved him in PtL, but I was definitely a bit wary. I mean, this guy is so far from my type. I am not into piercings and tattoos and he always came off as super tough and scary. That may be what’s on the outside, but on the inside, this guy is amazingly loyal. He is tough, and has had to be that way to take care of himself, but when he loves someone, he will do absolutely anything to protect and take care of them. Sometimes it’s almost too much, but it’s admirable nonetheless. I was annoyed that he always calls Rachel “his angel” when he’s thinking to himself because UGH GAG ME, but whatever. That’s just a small part in the grand scheme of things.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Bookmark Blog

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

