5 stars · fiction

Mary Poppins by P. L. Travers

Mary Poppins

author : p. l. travers

pages : [hardcover] 224

memorable quote Don’t you know that everybody’s got a Fairyland of their own?

favorite character : mary poppins

summary :

From the moment Mary Poppins arrives at Number Seventeen Cherry-Tree Lane, everyday life at the Banks house is forever changed. This classic series tells the story of the world’s most beloved nanny, who brings enchantment and excitement with her everywhere she goes. Featuring the charming original cover art by Mary Shepard, these new editions are sure to delight readers of all ages.

It all starts when Mary Poppins is blown by the east wind onto the doorstep of the Banks house. She becomes a most unusual nanny to Jane, Michael, and the twins. Who else but Mary Poppins can slide upbanisters, pull an entire armchair out of an empty carpetbag, and make a dose of medicine taste like delicious lime-juice cordial? A day with Mary Poppins is a day of magic and make-believe come to life!

review :

I can’t believe that it took me so long to finally get around to reading this book! I don’t remember when I first realized Mary Poppins started out as a book series. My friend gave me this first book for my birthday a while ago and I’ve been meaning to read it ever since because I absolutely adore the movie version. Of course with Saving Mr. Banks out recently, Mary Poppins has once again been everywhere and I finally took a day to read this quick, charming book.

There are portions of it very similar to the movie and I think anyone would enjoy seeing the connection there. But there are so many wonderful little scenes and adventures that never made it into the film that were so captivating and were a joy to read about! Jane and Michael have many interesting trips with Mary Poppins, though of course after each one she pretends that nothing has even happened and the two children are left to investigate and ponder whether or not there actually is something very peculiar about their nanny.

The characters of the book were incredibly interesting, even the ones who only appeared in small sections. I was surprised to see how little Bert was involved in the novel and would love to see if he reappears in the rest of the series. I certainly want to continue it because I think that people of all ages have already fallen in love with Mary Poppins and will like her quite a lot more once they read the books written about her. Even if she does stop often to check her reflection in shop windows. 🙂

I highly recommend this book! It’s something that everybody must read! It’s so short and sweet and don’t go and think that only children can read it. Go out and read this book soon and then tell me what you think of it!

5/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

