5 stars · fiction

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Incarnate

author : jodi meadows

pages : [hardcover] 374

memorable quote : “Did you have friends?”
“I’ve read about them, but I don’t believe they exist.”
“Your cynicism is amazing.”

favorite characters : sam & ana

summary :

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all?

Jodi Meadows expertly weaves soul-deep romance, fantasy, and danger into an extraordinary tale of new life.

review :

Why did it take me so long to read this book? Maybe I just wanted to wait because now books 2 and 3 are out and I want to get my hands on them as soon as possible. The characters and concept of this story immediately drew me in. What would it be like being Ana, the only outsider on a planet where the same souls have known each other other five thousand years? To know that because you exist, another soul couldn’t be reincarnated?

It was an interesting concept and I was really fascinated by how Ana acted around the other characters and the various reactions among those who met her. Particularly in the first section of the book, after Ana leaves her abusive mother to seek out more information about herself, it was heartbreaking seeing the way she would automatically make assumptions about how others would treat her. That had me rooting for her throughout the entire book, hoping that her life could get a lot better and making me happy whenever she got things that she deserved.

There were a few mysteries surrounding the setting and lingering on the edges of the plot in this book that I hope will be settled in the next one. I’m not sure exactly of what direction the plot will take but I’ll happily read it. This book has made me fall in love with Jodi Meadows’ writing and now I want to get my hands on more! The characters were fabulous in this novel, even the secondary ones, and the plot was unlike anything I’ve had the chance to read before.

I definitely recommend picking up Incarnate. It was a quick read for me and I enjoyed every moment of it. I can’t wait to go on with this series!

5/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

