4 stars · fiction · young adult

Grim: A Collection of Fairy Tale Retellings

 

Grim

editor : christine johnson

pages : [ebook] 480

summary :

Inspired by classic fairy tales, but with a dark and sinister twist, Grim contains short stories from some of the best voices in young adult literature today: 

Ellen Hopkins 
Amanda Hocking 
Julie Kagawa 
Claudia Gray 
Rachel Hawkins 
Kimberly Derting 
Myra McEntire 
Malinda Lo 
Sarah Rees-Brennan 
Jackson Pearce 
Christine Johnson 
Jeri Smith Ready 
Shaun David Hutchinson 
Saundra Mitchell 
Sonia Gensler 
Tessa Gratton 
Jon Skrovon

review :

I needed to read this anthology because one, it’s about fairy tales, and two it contains short stories by writers I love and have read before. This includes Julie Kagawa (The Iron King), Malinda Lo (Ash), Jackson Pearce (Sisters Red), and Jeri Smith Ready (Shade). As with any collection there were some hits and misses but overall I’m fairly pleased with the selection. There was a good mix of stories that were dealt with and I was glad that there weren’t too many repeats when it came to the tales. I was also excited to see some lesser-known stories getting a retelling.

My top two favorites have to be “Beauty and the Chad” by Sarah Rees-Brennan and “A Real Boy” by Claudia Gray. Both are just so fantastic that I’d really love a novel-length version of them to eat up. The first was so hilarious, I really couldn’t believe that Beauty and the Beast could be so entertaining in a new way when it’s already been done so often. “A Real Boy” was both touching and intriguing because it took so many turns that I didn’t expect and, at the end, I was left wanting to know what could happen next. Already my imagination was racing to fill in a bigger ending for myself. Any story that can trigger the imagination is awesome.

Sometimes it can be hard to predict whether a story collection will be worth reading but this is one I recommend, if only so you can check out both of those stories and tell me what you think of them! There are so many great authors included in this book but I don’t think every story was worthwhile to me. The problem I think is that most of these authors have also written novels and have more time in those to explain little details and tie up the stories neatly, whereas in these short stories interesting characters, details, or ideas might be introduced and then abandoned completely. I wanted a more rounded out tale whereas sometimes I was forced to be satisfied with less.

If you like twisted fairy tales, this might be the next book for you.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Grim: A Collection of Fairy Tale Retellings

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

