4 stars · fiction · young adult

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

 

The Moon and More

author : Sarah Dessen [also wrote Along for the Ride and That Summer]

pages : [hardcover] 435

memorable quote The truth was, there was no way everything could be the Best. Sometimes, when it came to events and people, it had to be okay to just be.

favorite character : emaline

summary :

Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough.

Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby.

Emaline’s mostly-absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby?

Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

Sarah Dessen’s devoted fans will welcome this story of romance, yearning, and, finally, empowerment. It could only happen in the summer.

review :

This book was amazing and surprised me in so many ways! If you’ve been wanting to read something by Sarah Dessen or have begun to think that all of her books are starting to feel the same (I think every fan can reach contemporary romance overload at some point) then you must pick up this book. It has the same unique feel as earlier Dessen books I’ve picked up had, yet the story is still told wonderfully and the characters are well fleshed out. Like always I absolutely adored returning to a familiar setting, featured in other books by this author, as well as the small connections that linked these characters to ones from other books. With every book Dessen releases I try to see how many connections I can make between it and the ones I’ve read before it. It’s like a literary scavenger hunt.

I could relate to Emaline so well because although she’s a few years younger than I am, I remember going through the stress of choosing a college and immediately afterward trying to determine where I’m going to go with my life. There’s this insane amount of pressure put onto students her age and I loved seeing her develop through this summer after her senior year. The Moon and More misled me and I loved that. It isn’t about romance. It’s about Emaline coming into her own and reaching for anything that will make her a better, happier person. She makes some mistakes on the way, which made me like her even more.

There were some characters that I couldn’t stand and in the beginning of the text I was afraid that I was intended to like them. While everything was sorted out in the end, I liked how The Moon and More manages, in an understated way, to point out that no one person’s life will ever be perfect and people don’t always need or get second chances.

I’d recommend this book to anyone looking for a light read this summer. If you’ve been a fan of Sarah Dessen like I am, I think this book will make you like her even more. If you haven’t gotten around to reading any of her books yet, maybe it’s time you took the plunge.

4/5 stars

If you liked this book you might also like That Summer or The Beginning of Everything

One thought on “The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

  1. I drop a comment whenever I especially enjoy a article on a site or I
    have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It’s caused
    by the sincerness displayed in the post I browsed.
    And after this article The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen | Caught Between the Pages.
    I was excited enough to drop a thought 😉 I actually
    do have some questions for you if it’s okay.
    Could it be just me or do a few of these comments appear
    like they are left by brain dead people? 😛
    And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to keep
    up with you. Would you make a list the complete urls of all your community pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page
    or twitter feed?

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

