2 stars · fiction · young adult

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

Isn't this cover beautiful?
Isn’t this cover beautiful?

 

Pointe

author : brandy colbert

pages : [hardcover] 352

favorite characters :

summary :

Theo is better now.

She’s eating again, dating guys who are almost appropriate, and well on her way to becoming an elite ballet dancer. But when her oldest friend, Donovan, returns home after spending four long years with his kidnapper, Theo starts reliving memories about his abduction—and his abductor.

Donovan isn’t talking about what happened, and even though Theo knows she didn’t do anything wrong, telling the truth would put everything she’s been living for at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

review :

I wasn’t really certain of what to think about this book, honestly. I really wanted to like it. There was an interesting premise-I’m not sure that I would have picked up Pointe if it hadn’t mentioned Theo’s friend’s abduction-and I have to admit that I really liked the writing in this book. The plot just didn’t do it for me, though I do believe that this is one of those books I didn’t enjoy that others might like better than I did.

I feel like Pointe tried to do too much at once and the ending was too sudden and perfect, considering all of the problems introduced. Theo has an eating disorder. Her friend Donovan had been kidnapped for four years and is now returned. Theo has some traumatic past experiences that come to light throughout the novel and intertwine with Donovan’s story. Theo also meets a new guy, who happens to be a drug dealer. I think something that took out a great deal of my enjoyment throughout the book was spending it annoyed that I was supposed to think that  a drug dealer was a good love interest.

Another thing that annoyed me was Theo dabbling with drugs and smoking. I know, there are many YA novels dealing with drug use and such things, but Theo only ever uses casually and she uses her eating disorder to escape from her problems, not the drugs. I simply couldn’t understand why she would put these things into her body when she’s training to become a professional dancer. It probably wouldn’t be best for her to destroy her lungs by smoking, then. It just completely distanced me from her character and took me outside of the story as I thought too much about how Theo had been constructed. And I know that all different sorts of people have different views on drugs and things like that, but I would have at least appreciated the lingering message that it isn’t in fact cool to do those things.

I’ll definitely pick up whatever Brandy Colbert writes next. I’m looking forward to seeing what she can come up with. Pointe, however, is most likely going to remain one of the most disappointing books of the summer for me. I’d recommend for the writing but can’t guarantee you’d like the plot.

2/5 stars

If you like this book you might also like Bunheads.

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

