3 stars · dystopia · young adult

Pawn by Aimee Carter

 

Pawn

author : aimee carter

pages : [hardcover] 343

summary :

YOU CAN BE A VII. IF YOU GIVE UP EVERYTHING.

For Kitty Doe, it seems like an easy choice. She can either spend her life as a III in misery, looked down upon by the higher ranks and forced to leave the people she loves, or she can become a VII and join the most powerful family in the country.

If she says yes, Kitty will be Masked—surgically transformed into Lila Hart, the Prime Minister’s niece, who died under mysterious circumstances. As a member of the Hart family, she will be famous. She will be adored. And for the first time, she will matter.

There’s only one catch. She must also stop the rebellion that Lila secretly fostered, the same one that got her killed …and one Kitty believes in. Faced with threats, conspiracies and a life that’s not her own, she must decide which path to choose—and learn how to become more than a pawn in a twisted game she’s only beginning to understand.

Previously titled Masked.

review :

I’m so glad that I continued to give Aimee Carter’s book a chance after The Goddess Test series completely fell flat for me. I didn’t expect to enjoy Pawn and while it wasn’t the best written dystopian novel out there, it kept my attention and I couldn’t predict everything that happened in it. Pawn presented the ranking system in a unique light, offered an interesting main character, and made me want to read more.

I went into this novel not knowing much about it. I was intrigued by the cover and also by the fact that when you take off the dust jacket the book has another cover on it! If you find the hardcover of this book I’d recommend looking at it; I’m loving that trend in books.

I was immediately captivated by Kitty’s story. Unsurprisingly she comes from the bottom of society, but when I read about the lengths she would go to she that she could stay with her boyfriend, Benjy, as well as what he would do for her, I really liked that their romance started before the book was begun. It’s different from most YA novels where we get to see the beginning of the relationship progress; here we get to see how that relationship may or may not remain strong in this restrictive society.

Something that really scares me is the concept of completely losing my identity so I was really able to identify with Kitty’s struggle to retain her sense of self. While she made a few decisions that I rolled my eyes at, overall she was a strong character who had a large capacity to love and care for others. I’m only hoping that doesn’t lead to her making other questionable decisions.

While there were some characters I feel like I didn’t get a good grasp of, I’m hoping that we get to learn more about them in the next book, which I will definitely be picking up. I have some idea of where things may go but I’m excited to see where the author is going to take this story.

3.5/5 stars

If you liked this book you might also enjoy Divergent or The Darkest Minds.

One thought on “Pawn by Aimee Carter

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

