books to movies

Books to Movies: The Fault in Our Stars

A few weeks ago I had the pleasure of watching The Fault in Our Stars. I’ve been looking forward to this movie, though I was terrified because of all of the hype it was getting John Green, author of the book, proclaimed early on that the movie was fantastic, but I didn’t know if he was simply being biased about it. People were getting crazy in anticipation of this. Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely loved the book, but because I’ve been disappointed by so many adaptations I try not to get up my excitement too far in advance. Actually, I usually tell myself it’ll be terrible so then I’ll be pleasantly surprised when the film is even slightly better than that.

Thankfully TFIOS kept in so much of the book. Even though my favorite scene is where the little girl comes up to Hazel Grace and asks about her canulla, which wasn’t added to the movie. I do think that some of the things I really enjoyed about the book didn’t translate well to the big screen. John Green’s writing is really hit or miss for me and a lot of his stuff is very big on metaphor and pretentious pronouncements. These seemed quirky or fun in the book and made me feel very awkward and disappointed, as they were presented in the movie. I think with a little tweaking it would have come off less abrasive and more romantic and fun.

One thing I remember disliking about the movie was one scene, I think when Gus and Hazel were first meeting, and Gus stared at her for a very unnecessary length of time. The movie kept cutting back to him and his little smirk and all I could think about was how douchbag-y he looked. I actually started laughing while I remember my friend sitting beside me was acting like it was the sweetest meeting ever. No. It was creepy and very unnecessary.

Gus wasn’t Gus to me. But eventually he won me over. As soon as he was cast I had my doubts, though I think he did pretty well with the character throughout the movie. I don’t think I’m as impressed as some people will be; I didn’t hate the performance, nor not I love it with all my heart. Actually, I think I enjoyed the supported actors and actresses a lot more than I did the leads, particularly Hazel’s mother and Isaac.

Would I recommend this movie? Yes. Will I watch it again? Maybe.  I think that this was a really well-done movie that didn’t butcher the book but lacked a certain spark of something to make me absolutely love the movie. I’ll adore the book and read it again and again. The movie, I’m glad that I watched and had that experience, but it wasn’t the best thing I’ve ever seen.

Have you seen the film? What do you think?

3 thoughts on “Books to Movies: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Looks like I was already following! Which is wonderful because I absolutely adore your blog! I saw TFIOS the weekend it came out, and I was concerned about all the hype, but I loved it. I wasn’t jumping through hoops the second I got out the theater, but I think just one day, I was thinking about the movie, and all the sadness from the story hit me. So I give it a thumbs up!

    Briannah
    http://briannahlindo.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Aw thanks so much! 🙂 I think it’s the hype that got to me in the end! I’ll always love the book but there are some scenes in the movie, especially the Anne Frank house and the scenes with Hazel and her mom that I randomly think of and get feels from!

      Like

  2. I have seen the film and I have to say it was amazing! If I wasn’t so strong emotional I probably would’ve been crying. After watching the movie I knew that without I doubt I NEEDED to read the book. I can’t wait until I can get started!

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

