1 star · dystopia · series · young adult

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Ignite Me

Shatter Me #3
Book 1: Shatter Me
Book 2: Unravel Me

author : tahereh mafi

pages : [hardcover] 409

favorite character : kenji 

summary :

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

review :

I liked Shatter Me. Liked Unravel Me. And could barely get through Ignite Me.

Honestly, up until this conclusion I counted Shatter Me as one of my favorite books and I was so looking forward to seeing how everything in Juliette’s world would change and develop. Unfortunately even though the love story/love triangle has always been a part of these books, it completely dominated this third installment. Juliette flip-flops between the two men who love her and she’s much more concerned with deciding between them than concerning herself with an impending battle.

The book begins with the aftermath of Unravel Me. I absolutely loved the ending to that and could see what was being set up for the next book. While I’ve never liked Warner as much as some of his supporters have, I loved his character. I thought he was interesting, wanted to hear more about his motivations, and liked that he was a different kind of villain. Ignite Me completely tears apart almost everything we learned about the main three characters in book one. It was incredibly frustrating, the way that everything was so easily changed and manipulated to be viewed beneath a different light, to justify some of the events that took place throughout the series. Adam’s character was completely demolished in this book, in my opinion. He spends much of it doing absolutely nothing but yelling at people, mostly Juliette. Then storming out of rooms. It didn’t match how his character acted before at all.

So I must disagree with the summary of the book. No, this conclusion was not shocking. I could predict everything in the ending from the first few chapters. I would have marked this book as did not finish if I hadn’t had such a connection with the beginning of the series. This book is not satisfying, nor is it action-packed. I think that was what I had most of a problem with; honestly, I like romance in YA novels. Sometimes I love it-even when there are love triangles! But Juliette’s real-world problems of taking down the Reestablishment, protecting and saving her friends, as well as killing Anderson, are shoved into the last twenty pages of the book. That’s right. There is absolutely no conflict that is not love triangle related until the very end. In fact, I thought that I’d made a mistake and there had to be another book in this series.

The conclusion came too abruptly and too easily, obviously. There was much more time spent on Juliette’s training then on the actual fight, though her training mostly consisted of her not being able to do anything and then spontaneously solving her problems (usually during a fight with one of her men).

The answers I’d hoped to get about why Juliette’s world was this way never came. I didn’t really need an explanation for why some people had powers-though it would have been good to know if that was something that was typical, around the world, or if it’d just started happening. I’m really disappointed that this is the ending that we got. I’ll continue to read and love Shatter Me, possibly Unravel Me  . . . but not this.

Although this book utterly devastated me, I’d like to leave this review on a good note. I absolutely love Kenji and was glad to see him appear so much throughout the book. I also found James so adorable and lovely, though I wish that he’d had more time devoted to him and that most of the conflict had been steered toward his reaction to certain revelations.

I wouldn’t recommend this book, or beginning this series with high expectations.

1/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

