favorite book friday

Favorite Book Friday – Commoner Couture!

Today I’m so happy to debut a new feature I’m going to have on the blog every week – Friday Book Friday! FBF gives bloggers of all sorts a chance to speak about their favorite novels and maybe give others inspiration on what to read next! Join in on all of the fun and give a warm welcome to Tiffany, the very first blogger to participate!

~  ~  ~

Hi! I’m Tiffany Lashai Curtis, the personal style blogger and creator of Commoner Couture. I’ve been blogging for about four years but recently started a new blog on a different platform in April. The idea for Commoner Couture came from my observations that most other recognizable blogs all started to look the same, with designer labels, photo shopped outfit pictures, and bloggers with hefty incomes and luxe closets. While I still enjoy those blogs they didn’t resonate with me as a curvy-girl of color in an urban setting. So I started my blog as a way to show that everyday fashion, settings, and a limited budget can still be used to create great style.

 “Can’t Have Just One”

When it comes to discussing my favorite books, I feel the same as I do about cute outfits; you always need more than one. But for the sake of time, I’ll talk about just one of my favorites…Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

 tiffany1

Here’s the book’s short summary from Amazon.com: “In this seductive, wistful masterpiece, Truman Capote created a woman whose name has entered the American idiom and whose style is a part of the literary landscape. Holly Golightly knows that nothing bad can ever happen to you at Tiffany’s; her poignancy, wit, and naïveté continue to charm.”

            Breakfast at Tiffany’s manages to be both a literary and cinematic staple. It has remained one of my favorite books (and movies) because of its quirky protagonist, Holly Golightly. To me, she’s the modern day woman, with a classis fashion sense and fierce independence to match. While there are some quirks about Holly that don’t quite jive with our 21st century sensibility, Holly’s moving to New York City to reinvent herself, and her fear of “belonging” to someone have always resonated with me. Many of us could only dream about uprooting our lives to go make it in the city alone, but I think that is what makes Holly Golightly so endearing. She puts the traditional roles of wife and mother, and even runs away from love all in the quest to work on who she ultimately wants to be. Whether or not you’re a fan of hers her character, is bold, daring, and certainly unique and I think she may have had it right when she said “Nothing bad can ever happen at Tiffany’s.” This book and the movie as well, have been things that I go back to time and time again, when I want to lose myself in the glamour of 1960s big hair and old New York, and I think it’s a book that reveals something new every time I read it.

~  ~  ~

Thanks so much, Tiffany! I’ve never read Breakfast at Tiffany’s but I feel like it’s one of those books everyone should read at some point in their lives.

Would you like to tell everyone about your favorite book? Email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail.com to discuss doing your own FBF!

12 thoughts on “Favorite Book Friday – Commoner Couture!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

