3 stars · series · young adult

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

 

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Mara Dyer #1

author : michelle hodkin

pages : [hardcover] 452

memorable quote : Thinking something does not make it true. Wanting something does not make it real.

summary :

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

review :

 I started this book not knowing much about it because that summary up above doesn’t say much about this book. Sometimes I really like not knowing what’s going to come in a book. It makes everything a surprise, especially because there are summaries out there that spoil things in books that I never would have expected otherwise.

I was very intrigued at the beginning and end of this novel. Mara’s problems and hallucinations were so interesting and I kept reading to find out more about them. Unfortunately the novel dragged in the middle. Maybe it’s because I’ve gone to private school (though nothing as snobby as what Mara needs to go through) so books based in those settings typically don’t capture my interest. There was a lot of extra stuff thrown into the middle of the book that made it much longer than it needed to be, especially because Mara only talks to two people at school and one of them is a ‘friend’ who only shows up when it’s convenient in the novel. I would have liked to have seen less of a stereotypical school setting with the stereotype of the bully, the mostly absent best friend, the love interest that overtakes the main character’s life . .

But I did enjoy reading this. For its bulk, I read it quickly. I’m going to read the next book because I hope that all of the extra things that distracted and bored me in book one will no longer be present in book two. I like Michelle Hodkin’s writing and her ideas are great so I’m hoping that the rest of this trilogy will carry out those ideas in an even better way!

I had a kind of love-hate relationship with Noah. First of all, I can never be attracted to anyone who smokes (even fictionally, and even with everything we learn about him in this book). Second, a guy who orders for you at a restaurant instead of letting you order for yourself? Nope. He did grow on me a little, as the novel went on, and I came to appreciate him as a character instead of a love interest.

Mara, of course, was much more interesting. I loved trying to figure out what was and wasn’t real or what she was hallucinating. Some of the twists were easy to see coming; others we were only getting in pieces that we put together as Mara does. Despite the fact that there were darker elements to the story, it was a fun thing to read.

Even though this first novel didn’t impress me, I still want to read more of the story to see what will happen next. I’m not sure if I would recommend this trilogy yet.

3/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

