favorite book friday

Favorite Book Friday: Bearika Rose!

favorite book friday

~  ~  ~

Every Friday I’m hosting a different blogger to tell us all about their favorite book! This week Erika from Bearika Rose was kind enough to write all about her favorite novel – Anne of Green Gables! Erika blogs about all aspects of life, including things like music and college. She’s set 101 goals for herself to accomplish before May 2016. And she has her own youtube channel!  Isn’t that amazing? Let’s all give her a warm welcome.!

 ~  ~  ~

erika1

It’s an old series, dating from 1908. But for me, it’s always been relevant. Anne of Green Gables, and the ensuing eight novels have always held a place on my bookshelf, and are given a reading every two years or so. Because Lucy Maud Montgomery just tells the story of a girl growing up. And sure, the story is set in the small town of Avonlea on Prince Edward Island, Canada – thousands of miles from my home. And sure, Anne is growing up in the early 1900s a century ago. But her naïveté, her mishaps due to vanity, her homesickness at college and her love of cats can be found in any decade, in any place and with any girl.

Though Montgomery wrote the novels as fiction for all ages, they are now often considered children’s classics because of their accessible writing and use of more common words. But just like the Harry Potter novels, the reader grows up with the characters. Anne arrives to you as an eleven-year-old orphan, and she leaves you as a mother of six, with Montgomery filling in all the details between. The books most remind of me Louis May Alcott, but unlike Little Women, the characters are not archetypes – they all have flaws – they are truly people. When I first read these novels as a young teenager, Anne became a girl I could so easily relate to, and I could look to her as a role model (albeit with many faults). She was just so glad to be living life and jumped into everything with no restraint and no regret.

erika2

Montgomery’s prose comes so naturally as well. As Anne ages so do her thoughts and conversations. I remember trying to start my own diary writing as Anne does, and I even began talking with archaic phrases because they sounded so beautiful in the novel. Anne’s life is so normal, unlike Harry Potter, and it is filled with typical, timeless, activities such as chores, and sleepovers. As she gets older, she attends college and muddles her way through relationship and courtships. And one can’t leave without mentioning Gilbert Blythe. Thank you Montgomery, for creating the specimen of Gilbert Blythe. He’s not the perfect gentleman, he’s not a superhero, but Anne and Gilbert’s story is one of the sweetest love stories that is sprinkled throughout the series. And the best part is that Anne pursues a life beyond marriage and children. Gilbert is a part of her life, never her whole life.

erika3

I don’t want to tell you more of the story because Montgomery does it so much better. But I’ll leave you with an Anne quote:

I’d like to add some beauty to life,” said Anne dreamily, “I don’t exactly want to make people KNOW more…though I know that IS the noblest ambition…but I’d love to make them have a pleasanter time because of me…to have some little joy or happy thought that would never have existed if I hadn’t been born

– L.M. Montgomery, Anne’s House of Dreams

~  ~  ~

Thanks so much, Erika! I read Anne of Green Gables a long time ago and enjoyed it! This may be embarrassing to admit but I never knew there were more books. Looks like I’m going to have to find them!

Want to read about more books to add to your to be read pile? Check out the other bloggers who’ve participated in FBF:

~Tiffany from Commoner Couture

~Alaska from Alaska Renee

~Leah from Leah of the Pack

~ Vanessa from A City Girl’s Guide to Life

Want to join in the fun? Email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail dot com so you can send in your own favorite book post!

6 thoughts on “Favorite Book Friday: Bearika Rose!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

