5 stars · dystopia · series · young adult

Eve by Anna Carey

 

Eve

Eve #1

author : anna carey

pages : [hardcover] 336

memorable quote You can love anyone. Love is just caring about someone very deeply. Feeling like that person matters to you, like your whole world would be sadder without them in it.

favorite characters : eve & benny

summary :

Where do you go when nowhere is safe?

Sixteen years after a deadly virus wiped out most of Earth’s population, the world is a perilous place. Eighteen-year-old Eve has never been beyond the heavily guarded perimeter of her school, where she and two hundred other orphaned girls have been promised a future as the teachers and artists of the New America. But the night before graduation, Eve learns the shocking truth about her school’s real purpose and the horrifying fate that awaits her.

Fleeing the only home she’s ever known, Eve sets off on a long, treacherous journey, searching for a place she can survive. Along the way she encounters Arden, her former rival from school, and Caleb, a rough, rebellious boy living in the wild. Separated from men her whole life, Eve has been taught to fear them, but Caleb slowly wins her trust… and her heart. He promises to protect her, but when soldiers begin hunting them, Eve must choose between true love and her life.

In this epic new series, Anna Carey imagines a future that is both beautiful and terrifying.

review :

I’ve had this trilogy on my radar for a while but only just decided to pick it up. I love dystopian novels but sometimes it can get to feel like I’m reading the same thing over and over. Fortunately Eve was a little breath of fresh air from what I’ve been reading recently. I really, really liked this novel and can’t wait to move on to the next book!

Eve moves at a slower pace than many other books in its genre but I think that it works well for this novel because it gives the reader more time to adjust to Eve’s world and also allows us to see things from her perspective. She hasn’t been outside the walls of the School since she was five years old and has no real instincts for survival. She isn’t like other dystopian heroines because she isn’t immediately a kick-ass kind of girl. She isn’t stupid, either; I saw her as the gentle, motherly type of person who’s incredibly smart but maybe has no survival sense.

This was a really quick read, especially because I kept wanting to know what would happen next with the characters. You could fly through these pages very quickly, especially if you’re a serious reader. That really worked for me because I felt like even though the pacing of the plot was slower, I was making so much progress with reading that I hardly noticed that.

It did help that the whole book had a Peter Pan vibe going for it, what with Eve running from home and Caleb taking her to a band of boys who view her as a kind of mother. Even though I’m not sure that any of it was meant in that way, it was cute and made me want to look for other parts of the book that felt more like a fairy tale than a dystopia.

Overall, I thought that this book was great. It has some of the same elements as other dystopian books but I loved how the characters made it different and I can see where the plot might go next. I’m hoping that the next installment has a little more action, fleshes out the characters more, and gets me excited for book three!

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Eve by Anna Carey

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

