4 stars · dystopia · young adult

Once by Anna Carey

 

Once

Eve #2
Book 1: Eve

author : anna carey

pages : [hardcover] 354

memorable quote Only boring people get bored.

favorite characters : caleb & eve

summary :

When you’re being hunted, who can you trust?

For the first time since she escaped from her school many months ago, Eve can sleep soundly. She’s living in Califia, a haven for women, protected from the terrifying fate that awaits orphaned girls in The New America.

But her safety came at a price: She was forced to abandon Caleb, the boy she loves, wounded and alone at the city gates. When Eve gets word that Caleb is in trouble, she sets out into the wild again to rescue him, only to be captured and brought to the City of Sand, the capital of The New America.

Trapped inside the City walls, Eve uncovers a shocking secret about her past–and is forced to confront the harsh reality of her future. When she discovers Caleb is alive, Eve attempts to flee her prison so they can be together–but the consequences could be deadly. She must make a desperate choice to save the ones she loves . . . or risk losing Caleb forever.

In this breathless sequel to “Eve,” Anna Carey returns to her tale of romance, adventure, and sacrifice in a world that is both wonderfully strange and chillingly familiar.

review :

 I picked this book up right after I finished Eve. I don’t know what it is about these books that have me addicted to them. They aren’t action-packed dystopians, more character and setting based situations. Yet as soon as I picked up Once, it was just like book one: I couldn’t put it down and flew through this book. It was a very quick read, one that I really liked, and something that made me excited for book three.

What made me really happy about book two were the plot twists I couldn’t predict. Sometimes I knew that Eve was making a mistake with some decision she made but I was never certain of how it was going to play out. I feel like there are so many different things at work in these books that are going to completely come together in the third and final book in this trilogy. Once just builds up more suspense and makes me eager to see how things will play out!

The one thing that did annoy me about this book was how Eve’s priorities sometimes seemed skewed. Whenever she wasn’t in immediate danger, she would relax and not think of ways to try to help her friends who were in terrible situations. When she was in trouble, then she would lament about how she would never be able to save anyone else. Sometimes she trusted people she shouldn’t have and did some naive things but most of that can be chalked up to her isolated upbringing. She’s slowly expanding her awareness and realizing that most of what she’s been taught is a lie . . but this book, like the last one, shows how she’s tentatively beginning to think for herself.

I really like these books so far and would really recommend them. They’re quick reads but I think they’re entertaining and nothing like the dystopians I’ve been reading lately. If you’re looking for more action, I wouldn’t head for the Eve trilogy, but if you want interesting characters and great writing, pick these books up!

4/5 stars

One thought on “Once by Anna Carey

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

