4 stars · dystopia

Rise by Anna Carey

 

Rise

The Eve Trilogy #3
Book 1: Eve
Book 2: Once

author : anna carey

pages : [hardcover] 310

favorite characters : eve & clara

summary :

How far will you go when you have nothing left to lose?

When she lost her soul mate, Caleb, Eve felt like her world had ended. Trapped in the palace, forced to play the part of the happy, patriotic princess of The New America—and the blushing bride of her father’s top adviser—Eve’s whole life is a lie. The only thing that keeps her going is Caleb’s memory, and the revolution he started.

Now, Eve is taking over where Caleb left off. With the help of Moss, an undercover subversive in the King’s court, she plots to take down The New America, beginning with the capital, the City of Sand. Will Eve be able to bring about a new, free world when she’s called upon to perform the ultimate act of rebellion—killing her father?

In Rise, Eve must choose who to leave behind, who to save, and who to fight as Anna Carey’s epic tale of romance and sacrifice in the chilling dystopia of The New America comes to a stunning conclusion.

review :

 This is the last book in the Eve trilogy and I was really looking forward to seeing how the author was going to conclude these books. Rise starts just a few weeks after the conclusion of book two. While I feel like the plot of this book read just as quickly as the other two books, it also lacked the amount of detail and character connections that I’ve been searching for throughout the series and hoped would finally come through in this final novel.

I think that I’ve come to the conclusion that while Rise and the other Eve books are interesting and made me want to know what was going to happen next, they aren’t very memorable as a whole for the dystopian genre. I’m not going to rave about how I love the characters because there is no epic love connection or friendship; characters that I knew that I should care about, I felt like I barely knew. It saddened me because I feel so much potential in the ideas Carey focuses on. I can only hope that her writing will improve and I’ll definitely try more from her in the future.

While I didn’t dislike the way that this book ended, at first it infuriated me. I’d waited that long to have it end like that? Yet the more I sat on it-and it’s been a week since I read it, until I felt able to review the book-the more I liked that ending. It seemed fitting and worked well with the way the rest of the book was written. I can imagine what’s going to happen next and maybe what’s in my mind is even better because I can infuse it with feeling that might not have been there if more had been included in the original text.

Would I recommend this trilogy? Yes, definitely. But it would be more of a dystopian for the summer, a lighter trilogy that doesn’t take a huge attention span or time commitment. I might end up rereading these books in the future; I’ll definitely keep an eye out to see what Carey’s writing in the future. This isn’t the best trilogy, but it’s a good, satisfying one.

4/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

