4 stars · fiction · young adult

Friends with Boys by Faith Erin Hicks

 

Friends with Boys

author : faith erin hicks

pages : [paperback] 220

favorite character : maggie

summary :

After years of homeschooling, Maggie is starting high school. It’s pretty terrifying.

Maggie’s big brothers are there to watch her back, but ever since Mom left it just hasn’t been the same.

Besides her brothers, Maggie’s never had any real friends before. Lucy and Alistair don’t have lots of friends either. But they eat lunch with her at school and bring her along on their small-town adventures.

Missing mothers…distant brothers…high school…new friends… It’s a lot to deal with. But there’s just one more thing.

MAGGIE IS HAUNTED.

review :

This book was so much fun to read! There was a lot going on with it and none of it seemed to be directly connected but I’m hoping that there’ll be another book that explains all of the elements in this one a little further!

Maggie is such a fun character to read. She’s always been homeschooled so she has anxiety about leaving home and trying to meet new people for the first time in her life. Because I struggle with social anxiety myself, it was interesting to see how Maggie handled this new situation and gradually became more comfortable in her school.

Her brothers were so fun! I only have one brother myself but I can imagine how much worse things would be if I had to have three of them . . . and how wonderful if could be to have all of those siblings, too. Their family dynamic was beautiful and I want to see more of it! They act like a normal, realistic family, which grounds some of the more fantastical parts of the book. Like the fact that Maggie can see ghosts. More specifically one ghost who likes to hang around the graveyard and never says anything. I think that the only thing really lacking about this book is that there’s no progress with the mystery about the book. It’s the only supernatural thing in the novel . . . Will there be more? Hopefully we’ll find out.

I’d recommend this book to anyone looking for a new read or who really enjoys graphic novels! The style of art in this is right up my alley and my library has another book by this author that I’m going to pick up ASAP so I can enjoy more of this!

4/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

