4 stars · fiction

Scarlet: Vol. 1 by Brian Michael Bendis

 

Scarlet

Volume One

by : Brian Michael Bendis, illustrations by Alex Maleeve

pages [hardcover] 176

favorite character : scarlet

summary :

THE AWARD WINNING, BEST SELLING POWERHOUSE CREATIVE TEAM BEHIND DAREDEVIL, HALO, AND THE AVENGERS UNLEASH THEIR BOLDEST PROJECT YET! SCARLET! This is the comic experience of the year! The first creator-owned series by one of the most successful teams in all of modern comics. Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world…A woman who will not back down…A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution!!

review :

I recently read this along with a lot of other graphic novels and out of the stack this was one of my favorites. I was looking for an awesome female character and got more than I could have hoped for. I loved everything about Scarlet, especially the fact that she directly addresses the reader. I also liked the flaws that she had. Maybe one thing that I didn’t like about this volume was how desperate it made me to get my hands on another.

I hadn’t heard of this book before I spotted it in the library and wish that more people knew about it. I don’t typically reach for comics or graphic novels but I feel like this in particular would be a great bridge between novel and comic. You get the great story you’re looking for paired with visuals that wouldn’t have heightened the impact if the writers had decided on a different form to publish. I really loved being able to see Scarlet and her different expresses: While she was ready to kick ass, while she was vulnerable, while she was indecisive.

She’s a girl who’s had a terrible, unjustified thing done to her that changes her life forever. Honestly, I feel like this generalization of her experience is something that most people can relate to. What makes Scarlet different is her push for justice. She isn’t going to get beaten down and silenced simply because things get tough. That’s simply when she starts fighting harder.

I really think she’s an awesome character and the others supporting her are great as well. I can’t wait to read more and this is one that I’ll be recommending to people for a while!

4/5 stars

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

