favorite book friday

Favorite Book Friday: RaeAnne from So Many Hobbies, So Little Time!

favorite book friday

Hello everyone! We’re back to Friday again and this week we have a special blogger posting! I’ve known her online for a few years from the roleplays we write together and I recently had the chance to check out her amazing blog! Please give a warm welcome to RaeAnne!

~  ~  ~

Hiya!

I am so honored to be writing a guest post for the wonderful Kayla and her amazing blog!!  Like…wow!  But before I get too ahead of myself, I suppose an introduction is in order.  My name is RaeAnne and I have recently turned seventeen, I’ve been reading and writing for as long as I can remember, and my favorite food is chocolate…unless it’s pizza  That’s all you need to know, right?  🙂  Okay, yeah, I’ll talk about my blog for a minute, too.
My blog has the title So Many Hobbies, So Little Time, which is sadly true.  But it doesn’t keep me from having a million and five different hobbies.  My posts are about anything and everything; television shows, my life in general, music, books, food, writing things, tutorials…whatever strikes my fancy at the time.  🙂  My favorite thing to write about, however, is books; I used to post my “Confessions of a Bibliophile” on a weekly basis, but once I got out of the habit of posting, that habit went out the window.  Soon, though, I hope to be returning to that!

 

When I was asked to write this post, I was excited and got a big smile on my face.  And then I started to wonder how the heck I was supposed to come up with a favorite book.  I can’t even think of a favorite food!  This might be impossible, y’all.  Or about as close as something can get to impossible.
I’ve narrowed it down to a few and as I write this I’m trying to choose which one to write about!  *Deep breath and heavy sigh.*  Okay.  I’ve got it.  Let me preface this with an interesting fact about myself:  I really like the Classics.  I chose to read The Count of Monte Cristo!  And A Tale of Two CitiesLes Misérables had me in tears the entire way through, but it’s so good!
I think a number of things go into this.  For one, the authors actually cared about their characters, and I think that’s hard to come by nowadays.  I can get past the random things that have seemingly nothing to do with the rest of the story; if I got paid by the word (as they did back then) I’d be doing the same exact thing!  And something about the way that they’re written, the words that they use and the ways they use them, are just so eloquent.  Sure, I might need to re-read a sentence a half dozen times before I can grasp what’s being said, but that’s fine with me.
But, in case that isn’t what you’d just pick up and read, or like to read about, I’ve decided to write about And Then There Were None, by Agatha Christie.  (But if you’d like to read my thoughts on the Classics I’ve read, just find the category on my blog entitled “Confessions of a Bibliophile.”)

This is the novel that can claim that it’s the only book that I have re-read; I usually can’t do this because my list of books to read is always miles and miles long!  But it’s so good that I just can’t help it!
It was originally published under another title, Ten Little Indians.  They changed it so that they wouldn’t be offending anyone, but this is still what I usually call it; I mean, that’s the title of the poem that the book is based on.
Agatha Christie was brilliant.  A bit messed up, but brilliant.  And it makes for a splendid book!
It’s not a very long novel, And Then There Were None, but it has you guessing all the way through—don’t think about skipping the epilogue, either, there’s some important stuff in there!
Ten people from very different walks of life all receive an invitation from someone they can’t quite remember if they know or not, a Mr. Owens.  They’re all very different people, too, and we get to observe this story from each one’s point of view—it’s unique and fantastic; this book couldn’t have been written any other way!
Mr. Owens has invited them to his house, which is on an island.  A bit suspicious, no?  Nevertheless, these people all decide to go and see what this whole thing is about.
Stiff and awkward greetings have been exchanged, and everyone is busy trying to figure out what the others around them are like and what connections they might have to their host.
Upon arriving at the house, there is no Mr. Owens to be found; instead, there’s just the older married couple that serve as butler and maid.
They’re all sitting around after dinner, making small talk and drinking—or frowning upon those that are.  And suddenly, they hear a voice—it’s actually a recording, but none of them know that at the time.  This disembodied voice then accuses each man and woman in that room of a dreadful crime—of murder.  And, of course, if you’ve killed once, what’s to keep you from doing so again?
Everyone is in a panic, denying that they’ve ever done anything wrong and each secretly wondering how this Mr. Owens knows such personal things about them.
In the middle of the pandemonium, a young man (the preppy guy of the bunch, who has been accused of killing kids while driving somewhat drunk, or at least driving quicker than he should have been) begins to choke…and he drops dead before anyone can do a thing about it.  This does nothing to help the mood, as you can imagine.  Who had done it, and how?  He’d been drinking, was it poison?

They want to leave.  They all want to get out of there and get back to their normal lives, forgetting about what had happened.  But they can’t!  It’s storming dreadfully outside and it will be days before a boat could get to them.

As they go their separate ways later that night, one of them finds a familiar nursery rhyme framed in their room.  It goes like this:

Ten little Indian boys went out to dine;

One choked his little self and then there were nine.

Nine little Indian boys sat up very late;

One overslept himself and then there were eight.

Eight little Indian boys traveling in Devon;

One said he’d stay there and then there were seven.

Seven little Indian boys chopping up sticks;

One chopped himself in halves and then there were six.

Six little Indian boys playing with a hive;

A bumblebee stung one and then there were five.

Five little Indian boys going in for law,

One got in Chancery and then there were four.

Four little Indian boys going out to sea;

A red herring swallowed one and then there were three.

Three little Indian boys walking in the Zoo;

A big bear hugged one and then there were two.

Two little Indian boys sitting in the sun;

On got frizzled up and then there was one.

One little Indian boy left all alone;

He went and hanged himself and then there were none.

 

And one of their group had just died…after choking.

You can imagine how this goes!  One by one, people begin mysteriously dying, but in a way that matches up with a child’s nursery rhyme–something I would never tell a child.  It’s a bit disturbing.
Everyone is growing more and more suspicious of each other as time goes on.  They all have their guesses, but are they right?

I’m not going to give it away and I hope that this is enough to make you want to read this masterpiece of a novel.  🙂

Thank you again, Kayla, for letting me do this!  🙂

~*~RaeAnne

~  ~  ~

I don’t know about anyone else, but that really makes me want to pick up the book!

Thanks so much RaeAnne for participating! I loved seeing what you had to say.

If anyone else is interested in contributing to Favorite Book Fridays, you can email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail dot com.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Book Friday: RaeAnne from So Many Hobbies, So Little Time!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

