favorite book friday

Favorite Book Friday: Corinne from The Feminist Feline

favorite book friday

Hello everyone! Happy Friday! Today I’m really excited to have Corinne on the blog because she’ll be talking about a book that I really love, Pride and Prejudice! Let’s all give her a warm welcome!

~  ~  ~

Why We All Need to Re-Read Pride and Prejudice Right Now
 
Pride and Prejudice. We all read it in high school. Whether or not you liked the book then, I’m sure we can all agree that the 2005 movie adaptation starringKeiraKnightley was fabulous, and that the 1995 mini-series starring Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy is a classic.

Every other year, a new adaptation of Pride and Prejudice is made. There’s “Bridget Jone’s Diary,” there’s a Bollywood version called “Bride and Prejudice,” and there was even a YouTube series called The Lizzie Bennet Diaries that was released in 2012.
But can you remember the last time you actually read Pride and Prejudice?
I for one can. Pride and Prejudice is the only book longer that Green Eggs and Ham that I have read more than once. I always have new books that I want to read, so I never re-read books, except for P&P of course. There’s something about this classic that never gets me bored. Is it the lovable characters? The simple plot? The happy ending? As much as I love all those elements of the story, what keeps me coming back is its feminist message.
I first read Pride and Prejudice when I was a senior in high school for my AP Literature class. I had seen the Keira Knightley movie a few years prior and had seen snippets of the Colin Firth mini-series because my mom would watch it all the time. But actually reading it for the first time changed my life. I know it sounds cliche, but reading Pride and Prejudice could not have come at a more perfect time in my life. It was December of my senior year and I was knee-deep in the horrible college application process. The process was very difficult for me, and I couldn’t handle the stress. I couldn’t sleep, I constantly had anxiety attacks, and I was barely eating. Pride and Prejudice was my escape from all the stress – and the best part was that it was schoolwork! Reading Pride and Prejudice helped me get closer with with my mom (who calls it her favorite book as well) and both the book and my mother helped me get well and be happy again.
After reading the book, I had to write a paper on it for my class. We had a few topics to choose from, and I chose to discuss the feminist elements of the novel. Elizabeth Bennett is a true feminist. She refuses to marry on the grounds of financial security alone and is steadfast in only marrying if she truly loves the person. If that means she might become a spinster, then so be it. Elizabeth values her independence and family far more than any guy, and she refuses to succumb to society’s expectations for her as a woman. After writing my paper, I became more interested in feminism, which led me to create my blog The Feminist Feline, where I discuss news, politics and culture from a feminist perspective.
Pride and Prejudice helped me to get through a difficult time in my life and led me to who I am today as an independent feminist who’s not afraid to speak up for what I believe is right. What has Pride and Prejudice done for you?
Once my finals are done this semester, I will go home for Christmas and do what I do every year: re-read Pride and Prejudice. The book always helps me to balance my life, which is essential for me to ring in the new year. If you have yet to read Pride and Prejudice, I hope that this post encourages you to do so. And if you only read it once or have read it a million times like I have, I hope that you feel encouraged to re-read it (again). It’s not just a literary classic. It’s a treasure.
Bio
Corinne Falotico will be graduating from The George Washington University with a major in Political Communication in one month. In addition to blogging at The Feminist Feline, she is a staff writer at The Rival DC, a freelance writer at HauteMess Magazine, and a social media intern at The Indie Chicks. Her favorite journalist is Elizabeth Plank and she has a huge lady boner for Rachel Maddow. Her hobbies include watching every movie and TV adaptation of a Jane Austen novel ever made, blasting Green Day and pretending that her roommate’s cats are her own. Be sure to follow her on TwitterFacebookInstagramPinterestGoogle+Tumblr, and Bloglovin’.
~  ~  ~
Thanks so much Corinne! I loved Pride and Prejudice when I read it in high school. I wasn’t exactly assigned it but I selected it to be the one I’d write my research paper on and I’m so glad that I did! I’m fairly sure that I wrote my paper from a feminist perspective, too! I absolutely love rereading books so maybe this’ll be one of the ones I get to over winter break!
If anyone else would be interested in getting featured on Favorite Book Friday, just shoot me an email at caughtbetweenthepageblog at gmail dot com. You won’t regret it! 😉
One thought on “Favorite Book Friday: Corinne from The Feminist Feline

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

