Favorite Book Friday: Tayler from The Morrell Tale

favorite book friday

Hi everyone! It’s Friday, and today Tayler is here to talk about her favorite book! I’m really excited for you all to read what she has to say. If you have a chance, check out her blog, too, and give her a few comments!

~  ~  ~

Hey, y’all! I’m Tayler and I blog at The Morrell Tale. I blog about motherhood, teaching Junior High English and History, recipes I make, books I read, and anything else that I think about.

I love to read–always have, always will. I’ve been reading since before entering Kindergarten, and I’ll be reading to the day I die. I read because it allows me to escape and travel. I can live a thousand lives, travel to hundreds of worlds and times, experience new adventures I’d never be able to in real life. And the crafting of novels! I once fell in love with a boy because I was in love with his writing.

My favorite book is actually a trilogy. And, it was definitely hard to choose this above my other favorite series, Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson. But, this trilogy beat them because of the outstanding art of the written word.

Inkheart!

I actually love all of Cornelia Funke’s works, but Inkeart is a step above the rest. Funke even said, “I think it is my best writing so far, and all of my passions for books is in there.”

Inkheart is about Meggie, whose father has been called Silvertongue because he has the gift to “read” characters out of a story. He accidentally read some villains (and a loveable fire juggler) out of a story called Inkeart. They want to get back, so they try to use his gifts for their own evil purposes. (How’s that for a short synopsis that doesn’t give anything away?)

But, what I love about it, it is a meta-book: a book about books and writing. It is so beautiful. Each chapter also begins with a quote from another great piece of literature that applies to the events of that chapter. I looked forward to those, and was excited to see if it was from a poem or story I had read.

Funke even explained why she wrote the novel: “Every reader knows about the feeling that characters in books seem more real than real people. So I was surprised to hear that there were no stories about people coming out of books.” I know I have always dreamed of stepping into novels, and here, I had found one with characters stepping out! And then, when I read the sequel, Inkspell, Meggie discovers she has the same gift and is able to “read” people into novels–and does so with her group into Inkheart! Then, in the finale, Inkdeath, they are still in the novel. How I wish I could be with Meggie, enjoying her gift and not just seeing the adventures in my imagination as I read, but to actually, truly experience them!

If you could “read” a character out of a book, or yourself in a book, who or what would it be?
 
~  ~  ~
Inkheart! One of those books I feel is severely underrated and needs to be read by all! I absolutely loved these books when I was younger. I can’t remember if I ever finished the trilogy . . so that just means I’m going to need to pick them up and enjoy them again!
Thanks so much for sharing, Tayler–and reminding me that I need to reread this trilogy!
If anyone else would like to join in on Favorite Book Fridays, email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail.com!

4 thoughts on “Favorite Book Friday: Tayler from The Morrell Tale

  1. Hey! I’m a friend of Tayler’s and I love reading so I thought I’d stop by.🙂 First off, thanks for sharing about your favorite series, Tayler!! I feel like you shared a lot of the reasons why I love reading, too! (And you said it beautifully!) Inkheart has been one I’ve heard about a few times but no one ever told me much about it. It is definitely going on my reading list!
    Second, totally following this blog, now. I love the name because I love books and have been caught reading more times than I can remember.🙂 And I love hearing about good books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

