Favorite Book Friday: Jess from Bookworms in Dresses!

favorite book friday

Hey guys! It’s Friday again, and you know what that means: another favorite book from another blogger! Here’s Jess from Bookworms in Dresses! Check out her blog as well and send her some love!🙂

~  ~  ~

I feel like every time I was introduced to someone and told them I was a bookworm, the first question I was asked was: “Have you read House of Leaves? It’s, like, my all time favorite book ever!” Needless to say, maybe it was jut because I tended to hang out with all the “Indie music loving alternative hipsters”, but I kept hearing about the book all the time, yet I had never read it! Everyone offered to lend me a copy, but I love having books on my shelves, so instead I bought my own copy. It was finally time for me to tackle this book that I had somehow missed for so long.

After finishing the book, I can safely say that it is in my top 5. House of Leaves is experimental, complicated, strange, haunting, and harrowing. The book utilizes so many different elements to tell the story: Different fonts, colors, footnotes, images, and even more strange things. Although, that’s only part of what makes the story so gripping when you read it.

House of Leaves is about two stories. One: A boy who finds a chest in his neighbor’s apartment containing an old manuscript, who is reading through said manuscript. Two: The manuscript itself, which is telling the story of a photographer who finds something is very, very wrong with his house.

Reading this, it makes you feel like you are spiraling down into madness along with the characters. Something about this book just feels so personal and real, even though the book clearly states that the story is pure fiction on the inside cover. It’s a haunting story that you just can’t stop reading once you start. You are turning the book all around in your hands, reading things upside down or sentences that spiral off the page. If you are a stickler for the classic writing style, this book will probably leave you irritated right off the bat, but if you can get past that, it’s easy to get wrapped up in the words.

I found myself wanting to measure all the walls in my house when I finished reading it and looking around at all my surroundings to make sure nothing was changed. The paranoia followed me right out of the pages. In that way, how haunting the book is and how the story clings to you, is what made me love it. I love books that can draw me in that deeply and make me look around at things around me in a different light.

If a book has ever moved you like that, I’d love to hear about it! I love books that can impact you so deeply while you read them! Now I’m that indie music loving alternative hipster that tells everyone that they should read House of Leaves when I meet them. It’s funny how the tables have turned. Now it’s off to measure the walls again, to make sure everything is the same as it was yesterday… (just kidding!)

Bio: Hello there! I’m so excited to be guest posting on this book filled blog! I blog over at Bookworms in Dresses, where I review books, talk about life as a post grad, and share some outfit posts from time to time as well! I come from the city of Pittsburgh, where I attended college, and now live with my boyfriend who is the definition of an Indie-Music-Loving-Alternative-Hipster (with a great beard). I’ve been a bookworm since I could read, and I always got in trouble for reading books under my desk at school, as well as under the table at dinner. Getting me to put a book down is a struggle. I hope you enjoyed my review of House of Leaves!

 ~  ~  ~

Thanks Jess! I’ve heard really great things about this book and now I know I definitely need to read it!  Maybe over the summer! Thanks for the post!

One thought on “Favorite Book Friday: Jess from Bookworms in Dresses!

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

