All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

All These Things I’ve Done

author : gabrielle zevin

Pages : [hardcover] 354

memorable quote I did learn something about insanity while I was down there. People go crazy, not because they are crazy, but because it’s the best available option at the time.

summary :

In 2083, chocolate and coffee are illegal, paper is hard to find, water is carefully rationed, and New York City is rife with crime and poverty. And yet, for Anya Balanchine, the sixteen-year-old daughter of the city’s most notorious (and dead) crime boss, life is fairly routine. It consists of going to school, taking care of her siblings and her dying grandmother, trying to avoid falling in love with the new assistant D.A.’s son, and avoiding her loser ex-boyfriend. That is until her ex is accidently poisoned by the chocolate her family manufactures and the police think she’s to blame. Suddenly, Anya finds herself thrust unwillingly into the spotlight–at school, in the news, and most importantly, within her mafia family.

Engrossing and suspenseful, All These Things I’ve Done is an utterly unique, unputdownable read that blends both the familiar and the fantastic.

review:

I love Gabrielle Zevin and I’ve been waiting so long to start this new series. It finally came out as an ebook for a good deal so of course I had to get it to try it out. I was a little unsure about the concept of the novel, not the least because to me it seems incredibly unbelievable. Chocolate could not ever be banned. Can you imagine the revolts that would happen? A revolution I would totally take part in because chocolate is way too good to let it go forever!

My opinion of this book oscillated a few times throughout the novel. Most of the writing was disappointing, verging to extremely corny in some moments. For example, at one point in the book Win calls Annie “lass” for no particular reason (and this repeats a few other times throughout the book) when he’s not Scottish, which to me would be the only justification for it. Maybe a Scottish grandfather, seeing as they’re in America. His reasoning for it was something like saying it felt like the word fit her. No, it just ended up sounding condescending and like a bad attempt to get a cute pet name for her.

Then there would be surprisingly badass plot points that would pick up my interest again and kept me reading the entire novel. I’m not sure if that’s enough to keep me through the whole series; if anything, I’ll borrow the next book from a library, not purchase it myself. Or I’ll find someone who’s already read it to tell me all about it.

While there are a few loose ends I’m curious about, I’m not invested enough in the novel or characters to recommend this to anyone. Now I’m realizing why I waited so long to try out this series.

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

  1. Aw, sorry you didn’t enjoy this as much as I did. I agree that these books feel a little … quirky — the fourth-wall breaking, the characters, and even some of the plot twists. So I can see that this isn’t a series for everyone. You might try her adult book, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry. Not as quirky and really charming!
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen at YA Romantics

    Like

    • I’ll definitely give that a try! I could see how these books might be loved by other people, just not me. I really loved Elsewhere by her so I know that I already like her as an author, so I’ll try out more of her books!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

