Prodigy by Marie Lu

Prodigy

Legend #2
Book 1: Legend

author : marie lu

pages : [hardcover] 371

memorable quote He is beauty, inside and out.
He is the silver lining in a world of darkness.

favorite character : day

summary :

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

review :

I have a feeling that this is a trilogy that only keeps getting better. While it isn’t one of my favorites (and I wanted so badly to love it!) these books have some great elements that I think everyone should take a look at. I love a book that makes you think.

For instance, just as soon as you’re sure you have it all figured out in Prodigy . . . something comes along and blows it all away. In an amazingly realistic sense. It’s hard to pinpoint who, exactly, is the bad guy here because everyone has their different motivations, their evils and kindnesses, and there are so many agendas going on that it’s difficult for June and Day to know who their real allies are. Apart from each other, of course. The way their relationship progressed was pretty sweet, too.

Again, I just have a problem with the writing style. I’m unsure of whether it’s Marie Lu or simply the way she crafted these books. I’m tempted to continue following her writing even after I finish Champion because she has amazing ideas and I WANT to be able to enjoy them more.

Something I really did love? The action. Yes, these books are perfect for people looking for an adrenaline rush–and if you need nothing else, I’m certain you’ll love them. There’s never a dull moment here because even when the characters are resting, it’s usually only because they’ve discovered a new and terrible plot twist that’s about to make a whole other mess come down on them.

 Day is still my favorite character to read because, come on, who doesn’t prefer the rebellious badass. I love June for who she is, the strength she has, and the beautifully sharp mind she’s got . . . but there’s just something about vigilante justice that’s that much cooler.

While these aren’t my favorite books, I’ll recommend that others at least give them a go. I know there are others out there who’ll love them more than me!

Writing: 55%
Characters: 80%
Romance: 60%
Action: 100%
Plot: 70%
Overall: 73%

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. I love this series SO MUCH. And I really hope you read Champion because it is my favourite of the three, and one of my ALL TIME favourite novels (there are only nine, so it’s massive for a book to get on that list).

    I’m sad that you’re not full on loving this one, Kayla! But I’m glad you’re still enjoying it🙂

    I loved reading about June and Day, and I have to say that Day is one of the best characters I’ve read. And if you like him now, just wait until Champion, eep! That book is so gorgeous!

    Lovely review ^.^

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so strange, because there are parts of this trilogy that I absolutely love, and I feel like I should be enjoying it more than I am, so I don’t know whether it’s me or not! I guess I’ll be able to tell if I read Marie Lu’s other books and see how I feel about those. BUT I have read Champion and have to say it’s my favorite of the three and THAT ENDING was absolutely PERFECT!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

