Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

I just reread Daughter of Smoke and Bone because soon (too soon, but also not soon enough?) I’m finally putting my foot down and finishing this trilogy. It’s bittersweet because these are my favorite books. Ever.

Caught Between the Pages

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1

author: Laini Taylor

pages [hardcover]: 417

memorable quote:
“It’s not like there’s a law against flying.”
“Yes there is.  The law of gravity.”  

favorite characters: zuzzana & akiva

summary:

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages—not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the…

View original post 320 more words

3 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

  1. I feel like I have to give this book another chance, because when I read it last year … I wasn’t a huge fan *hides* I just didn’t understand why everyone had pushed me to read it. I thought the writing was lovely, and I did quite like the characters and setting, but I just felt like the hype for it was not legitimate. I have been told the second book is better, but maybe I should re-read the first one. I wanted to love ti so much! Maybe now that I won’t let the hype influence me so much, I might go in with a more fresh perspective? I hope so.

    I also hope you like the conclusion, since you love it so much!😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • What?!? *gasp*

      No, no, it’s okay.🙂 I didn’t hear much about this book before I picked it up, so maybe I lucked out there! I had no idea what to expect so when I read it, that made it extra . . everything. The second book is even better, surprisingly enough in trilogies, so I hope you give it another chance!😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

