Career Talk Tuesday with SJ Higgins!

career talk

Hi everyone! It’s Tuesday again and today I have an awesome post from author SJ Higgins. I think it’s so awesome that an author can grow, learn, and never imagine the future they have in store simply because of the stories inside of them that will force themselves to be written! Read on to hear about SJ Higgins’ story.

~ ~ ~

I didn’t major in writing, hell, I barely paid attention to my English teacher in high school. I thought- as you do at seventeen – I would never use what he taught in the ‘real world’.  I probably owe him an apology.

So when the storylines appeared in my mind, I ignored them or at best, put them down to fantasies in which I could lose myself during boring meetings.

It was when a particularly strong storyline popped into my head, during an episode of Supernatural no less, that I felt a compelling and powerful need to get it out on paper.

There was just one problem.

I couldn’t write.

Oh and the subject matter was a bit of a no go. I mean, a story about a girl who is in love with two brothers. I would be crucified. So I pushed the thought to the back of my mind and did my best to ignore the voices in my head.

Fast forward three years and I just couldn’t ignore the voices any longer. Add to the mix that I’d just finished S.C. Stephens ‘Thoughtless’ and I knew I had to get my story out there.

‘Thoughtless’ touched on the taboo topic of being in love with two people at once and as far as I could tell, no one hated S.C. for it. In fact, some people may have been able to relate.

Plucking up the guts I told a good friend Victoria King (who incidentally became my editor for ‘The Dark Side Of Chemistry’) of my idea for a novel and mentioned that I was going to look for someone to write it for me. Victoria strongly advised me to write it myself. Thinking she was mad and purely to prove my point, I wrote my first paragraph. That’s when I fell in love with writing and ‘The Dark Side Of Chemistry’ was born.

Should I have listened in my creative writing class? Absolutely. It would probably have made the process a lot easier and my time spent on Google a lot less. That being said I will definitely enroll in a creative writing class as soon as I can. This time I will pay attention. For now I’m just having a blast. My time spent in storyland with my characters is one of my favourite times of day – when I am not yelling at my laptop that is – and if one person enjoys my story, well then, I’ve done my job.

My name is S.J. Higgins, I live in South Africa with my hubby, two girls and my dogs Buzz and Rex. I work at an aviation company in the mornings and am lucky enough to have the afternoons to spend with my girls – and when I just can’t help myself, write a paragraph or two.

Social Media: Goodreads    Facebook    Pinterest

~ ~ ~

Thank you so much for participating! I love hearing about the good times (and frustration!) that come once someone finds a place in writing for themselves. If you want to check out The Dark Side of Chemistry, click below:

Amazon

And if you’d like to participate in Career Talk Tuesdays, email me at caughtbetweenthepagesblog at gmail dot com.

One thought on “Career Talk Tuesday with SJ Higgins!

  1. …and in a bizarre twist of fate, SJ has become my lean-on-go-to person to bounce ideas off with my own writing! Good job my friend!

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

