Winter by Marissa Meyer

13206900

Winter

author : marissa meyer

pages : [hardcover] 824

memorable quote Right now, a kiss is the going rate for near-death experiences. It’s kind of a point system.

favorite characters : wolf & scarlet

summary :

Princess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend—the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Can Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter defeat Levana and find their happily ever afters?

review :

Marissa Meyer, thanks for knowing how to tear my heart out and making me love every minute of it. I’m going to miss every heart-pounding, anxiety-inducing part of this series. These characters are some of my favorites. They’ve inspired my own writing and lit up my imagination in more ways than I could possibly explain. These are books that I’ll keep coming back to–they’re books that, literally, as I finished the last pages of <i>Winter</i>, I felt the urge to pick up <i>Cinder</i> so that I could start the ride all over again.

I’ve been waiting to read this book for what feels like forever. I read <i>Cress</i>, the third book in the series and one leading up to this finale, nearly two years ago and it was painful to wait to get my hands on this one. Each book in the series introduces us to a new set of characters–more to fall in love with and worry about when they’re steadily placing themselves in more and more danger. In between these books, Meyer released a prequel, <i>Fairest</i>, which deals only with the backstory of our villain, Levana. Knowing where she’s coming from and what she’s dealt with, I can now safely say that Levana is entirely crazy and if I ever saw this Lunar anywhere I’d run the other way as fast as possible. She would do <i>anything</i> to keep her place as queen of Luna and, what’s worse, she is insane enough to believe that the people of the planet love her and that she’s doing it all–starting a war, killing millions of people–for the good of the world.

Despite all of that horrible craziness happening, there were so many cute moments in this book. Because there are so many couples and it’s the last installment, I was waiting for it, and I think I’m satisfied with what I got. Of course, Scarlet and Wolf are my favorite characters EVER so every time either of them were mentioned, even when terrible things were happening (though I won’t spoil anything!) I wanted to squeal with happiness. The jokes in this made me laugh aloud a few times, which got me odd looks from my roommate but really helped to break up all of the, well, heartbreak that was happening.

Because this book is dark. Don’t get me wrong; at one point, I could predict a few things that were going to happen. But that didn’t annoy me. On the contrary, I ended up surprised that the things were actually happening, and wished that I could have a strong word with Meyer about what she was putting these poor characters through. It was one thing for me to think that something devastating could happen and another for it to ACTUALLY happen. This book is a rollercoaster and you should probably triple-check your safety harness before you get on.

If you haven’t started these books now, start before you get spoiled! These are some of the best fairy tale retellings I’ve ever read and because that’s my favorite kind of book, I’ve read a LOT of those. They’re kind of perfect. The best characters, plot, originality, romance, humor, suspense. I could praise these books all day but it wouldn’t be the same as you picking them up and reading them for yourself. And then, you can be as devastated as I am, that they’re finally over and I’ll get no more Scarlet and Wolf in my life.

5/5 stars

 

One thought on “Winter by Marissa Meyer

  1. I’ve only read the first two books in this series, and Scarlet and Wolf were my favourites, as well. I mean, I adored Thorne, but WOLF. I just loved the interaction between those two characters so much. I’m happy that they’re in this book😀

    I’m surprised I haven’t been spoiled for this book yet :O I hope I’m not, because I intend to re-read CINDER and SCARLET in preparation of finally finishing the series, and I don’t want anything to wreck it!

    I’m super happy that you loved this conclusion, especially since it’s a series that means so much to you! I love it when that happens because I think the last books in series can either be hits or misses. But it looks like this one was a hit so hurrah!

    Lovely review, dear❤

    Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

