DNF Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

12954620

Falling Kingdoms

Falling Kingdoms #1

author : morgan rhodes

pages : [hardcover] 412

summary :

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

review :

I’d heard really great things about this series so I picked upFalling Kingdoms from the library, planning to marathon the rest of the books that are currently out if I liked this first installment. I have to admit that I was completely surprised that I didn’t end up liking this book–to the point where, 250 pages in, I didn’t end up finishing it.

Fallen Kingdoms is, basically, a YA fantasy novel that in those few hundred pages didn’t show me what was unique about it. The characters weren’t exceptional or relatable, to me. One of them creeped me out from the start because he’s in love with his sister (who, I’ll admit, is known to be adopted at the start by the reader, but he doesn’t know!) and I’m still not sure if he’s supposed to end up as a hero or a villain. Besides him, most of the characters end up doing things that are completely stupid. Starting international wars for literally no reason. Running off to countries where every person there wants you dead–without any protection and when you’ve hardly stepped outside the palace in your life. In most books, I can overlook rash or stupid decisions because something interesting will happen or the character will end up learning from their mistakes. I’m not willing to sit through a book series that looks like it’ll be longer than four or five books to see what’ll happen with these people.

The writing wasn’t so great, either. There was nothing in it that made me feel immersed in this world, which is supposed to be ancient and have elements of magic. I wasn’t awed by any of it, really, and that disappointed me. I love learning about new fantasy worlds and their rules and conflicts. ButFalling Kingdoms just has three pretty mundane kingdoms that have been falling apart from even before these books begin. I can’t even count the number of times I sighed because I was bored, or frustrated, with this book that I’d been looking forward to.

I definitely won’t be continuing this series and I’m not sure if I’d try something else by this author, but I wouldn’t recommend Falling Kingdoms. There are so many other fantasy series out there that are better.

1/5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “DNF Review: Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

    • It felt very typical, already done, to me. But I can also see why some people, maybe who haven’t read as much YA fantasy, would like it. I feel like it’s one of those books people either love or can’t stand!

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

