Ten Movie Adaptations that Might Have Been Better Than the Book

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week was a freebie week and because I’ve had movie adaptations on my mind lately, with The Fifth Wave releasing in theaters last weekend, I decided to count down my favorite movie adaptations of books. Some that–hold your breath–I watched before I was convinced to read the book. Some that were so good I might have decided not to read the book. (And, please, don’t bash me for that blasphemy.)

1.  Atonement

mv5bmtm0odc2mzg1nl5bml5banbnxkftztcwmtg4mdu1mq-_v1_sy317_cr00214317_al_

“A person is, among all else, a material thing, easily torn and not easily mended.”

I read and absolutely loved the book when I was assigned to read it in school. Afterward, I found out about the movie adaptation–and that it has James McAvoy in it, whom I love. It was so well-done that even though it changed some pieces of the book, I still loved it.

2. The Help

help_poster

“You is kind. You is smart. You is important.”

I didn’t ever think that I’d bother to read the book, until I ended up seeing the movie. It helped me to decide to read it, which was a great decision because otherwise I would have missed out on that fabulous writing.

3. The Hunger Games

220px-hungergamesposter

“You don’t forget the face of the person who was your last hope.”

I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one who was excited when this movie came out. While it wasn’t perfect, it did live up to my expectations, and the sequel was even better.

4. The Book Thief

the-book-thief_poster

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

I absolutely LOVED this book so I was super excited to see the movie. There was a lot of time in between my reading and when I watched the film; I think that the longer I let a book sit with me so I forget the details that might not be included in the movie, the more likely I am to love the movie.

5. The Notebook

51p5u4wyprl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

“So it’s not gonna be easy. It’s going to be really hard; we’re gonna have to work at this everyday, but I want to do that because I want you. I want all of you, forever, everyday. You and me… everyday.”

Like most people, this was my first introduction to Nicolas Sparks–to romance movies in general, really. Now, I feel like Sparks’ work is overly repetitive, but I remember how I felt so strongly about this movie when I first saw it, so I had to include it.

6. How to Train Your Dragon

how_to_train_your_dragon_poster

“Twelve days north of Hopeless and a few degrees south of Freezing to Death”

It took me a long, long time to even know that this movie was based on a children’s book series. Well, loosely based, I should say, because I read the first book after watching and the two are so different. I’d hardly even call them related!

7. Rise of the Guardians

rise_of_the_guardians_poster

“To understand pretending is to conquer all barriers of time and space.”

Just like with #6, I hadn’t realized that this movie was based on a children’s series. And it was phenomenal. I absolutely love the movie and the books are fantastic as well–though very different.

8. Peter Pan

peter_pan_2003_film

“To die will be an awfully big adventure.”

Peter Pan is one of my favorite stories, plays, movies, Disney-esque things . . ever. I’ve loved so many versions of it, but this is the first movie I can remember clearly seeing in theaters. Though I’m sure I must have seen the Disney movie first, this is what stuck with me.

9.  The Silver Linings Playbook

mv5bmtm2mti5nza3mf5bml5banbnxkftztcwodexntc0oa-_v1_sx640_sy720_

“I don’t want to stay in the bad place, where no one believes in silver linings or love or happy endings.”

For this I honestly can’t remember: Did I read the book first or watch the movie? I really enjoyed both, so neither made me dislike the other, at least.

10. The Princess Bride

the-princess-bride

“When I was your age, television was called books.”

Obviously, this one tops all the rest. The whole movie is filled with lines so catchy, you can’t help but remember and quote them. The novel is written in the same voice and style so it’s a real joy to read.

What movie adaptations have you enjoyed? What have you hated?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ten Movie Adaptations that Might Have Been Better Than the Book

  1. Oooh, I just watched Atonement (three times). Someone gifted me the book and it’s sitting on my TBR shelf, but I’m scared because I don’t want it to be any better or any worse than the movie. I really love the Notebook as a movie but I didn’t like the book nearly as much. I don’t really like Nicholas Sparks as a writer, but his movies are usually great.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think they’re both great! They’re different, but the ways they do the different plot points are interesting! And I understand–I feel like sometimes I just get in the mood to watch a Nicholas Sparks movie, but never to read the books!

      Like

    • Yesss! I just bought the book, Stardust, but I’ve been wanting to see the movie for ages–ever since it came out, lol! and how could I forget Perks?? I literally forgot it existed. I loved that book/movie. xDD

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

