Top 10 Tuesday: Journey to the Past

 

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and The Bookish!

Reading books, particularly historical fiction, gives you a glimpse at the world as it was–as it could have been in you’d been born in that time period. And, to be honest, I’m sure that most of them would be pretty terrible to live in. I mean, I love having indoor plumbing and all these social advances. But there are a few books that showcase societies I’d like to take a little visit in. Like, a day trip.

1. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. Maybe this one is a little bit of a cheat, because it’s set in WWI but is steampunk. I’m going to make it count, because it involves real history–still, I wouldn’t really want to visit and be in the middle of a war. The quick trip would be spent with the Darwinists, of course, getting to see all of their animal inventions/contraptions.

2. Curses and Smoke by Vicky Alvear Shecter. Again, SUPER QUICK VISIT. I do not want to get caught in Pompeii at the wrong place at the wrong time. But, ancient architecture, and art, and culture . . I’d love to see it all–for a few hours.

3. Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes by Rick Riordan. Maybe I’m cheating a little for all of this list. I really want to see Ancient Greece in its glory days, just for a little while, and this book basically takes you on a tour of the whole place!

4. The Clockwork Scarab by Colleen Gleason. Also kind of steampunk-y. But the outfits are gorgeous and the setting very interesting, for a Victorian-esque place.

5. The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner. This book’s setting is loosely based on Greece, but with little twists. I think it would be another one that would be fun and gorgeous to explore.

 

 

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: Journey to the Past

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

