10 Books I though I’d hate but didn’t

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

1. The Suffering by Rin Chupeco. I wanted to read this book and simultaneously dreaded it. I can read or watch horror without a problem if it’s a slasher film. Something dealing with the paranormal/vengeful spirits? Nope. Nope. Those things are much harder to kill. But The Suffering is like horror for people like me. Okiku, the main character, is honestly one of my favorite characters of all time. She’s a vengeful spirit, and terrifying to look at, but she kills murderers and rescues people, as well as the souls of the dead! How much more awesome can you get?

2. Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins. I honestly started reading this and thought that I would DNF it after the first few chapters because I really wasn’t enjoying myself. I’m so glad that I stuck with it! I thought that it was going to be a normal story about a Southern belle and, I’m sorry, that just doesn’t interest me. But this book was so much more!!

3. The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz. I hadn’t read much historical fiction and had read another book by de la Cruz that I’d absolutely hated. Little did I know that this would quickly become a favorite of mine!

4. Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare. Okay, honestly I’m all about authors writing books set in the same world as their previous series–IF they still have original ideas and writing. I didn’t even enjoy the original City of Bones trilogy so I don’t understand the hype and masses of books that are coming out of that–but . . For some reason, I read the prequel trilogy, and while they aren’t favorite books of mine they were actually pretty good!

5. Crash Into You by Katie McGarry. This was in my stages of me thinking I was “too cool” for contemporary. And then Katie McGarry reminded me of how good a contemporary novel could be.

6. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black. Again, this was an author I thought that I wouldn’t enjoy, and I was over vampires when I read this. It was SO. GOOD. I still can’t handle it.

What books have you read that have surprised you?

One thought on “10 Books I though I’d hate but didn’t

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

