Lips Touch Three Times reminds me of why I love Laini Taylor

 

Lips Touch Three Timeslips touch cover

author : laini taylor

pages : [hardcover] 266

memorable quote :

There are other ways of showing someone you love them, such as fetching them out of Hell.

favorite story : spicy little curses

summary :

Three tales of supernatural love, each pivoting on a kiss that is no mere kiss, but an action with profound consequences for the kissers’ souls:

Goblin Fruit
In Victorian times, goblin men had only to offer young girls sumptuous fruits to tempt them to sell their souls. But what does it take to tempt today’s savvy girls?

Spicy Little Curses
A demon and the ambassador to Hell tussle over the soul of a beautiful English girl in India. Matters become complicated when she falls in love and decides to test her curse.

Hatchling
Six days before Esme’s fourteenth birthday, her left eye turns from brown to blue. She little suspects what the change heralds, but her small safe life begins to unravel at once. What does the beautiful, fanged man want with her, and how is her fate connected to a mysterious race of demons?

review :

If you aren’t yet a fan of Laini Taylor then I don’t understand what you’re doing with your life. The Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy is literally the best thing that I’ve ever read and if I could only recommend one thing to everyone for the rest of my life, it would be that. Because it’s that great. Surprisingly, not enough people have read it. And while I anxiously await Laini’s next book (which I just found out is supposed to be published later this year!!!), I looked into what else she’s written in the past. That’s how I first encountered Lips Touch Three Times.

I knew that it was a collection of three short stories. I knew that all would have some kind of a kiss in them, for one reason or another. What I didn’t realize, perhaps naively, was that they would be as beautiful, heart-wrenching, and twisted as Laini’s books.

These short stories pack so much into less than a hundred pages each. I don’t understand how it’s possible, to be honest. Each story has its each incredibly unique fantasy setting. There’s world-building alongside plenty of plot twists and flashbacks and beautifully fleshed out characters. These women who I either loved (and wanted to protect from the world) or loved to hate. Because not everything is perfect, in these books. And no one is ever guaranteed a happy ending.

I absolutely loved all three stories but I have to say that my favorite was “Spicy Little Curses”. Maybe because it terrified me. Maybe because it had some adorable romance. Maybe because it nearly drove me crazy with wondering what was going to happen next when there were so few pages left, so much to solve, and Laini of course manages to pull it all off effortlessly.

These stories aren’t for the faint of heart, so if you’re looking for something overly cheerful, look elsewhere. But if you’re looking for new worlds to explore, characters to fall in love with or passionately hate, and plot twists that will have you re-read the same page three times because yes, that did really happen pick up this collection.

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Lips Touch Three Times reminds me of why I love Laini Taylor

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

