Number the Stars is a children’s book you’ll never forget

number the stars cover

 

Number the Stars

author : lois lowry

pages : [paperback] 137

favorite character : annemarie

memorable quote :

She fell asleep, and it was a sleep as thin as the night clouds, dotted with dreams that came and went like the stars.

summary :

Ten-year-old Annemarie Johansen and her best friend Ellen Rosen often think of life before the war. It’s now 1943 and their life in Copenhagen is filled with school, food shortages, and the Nazi soldiers marching through town. When the Jews of Denmark are “relocated,” Ellen moves in with the Johansens and pretends to be one of the family. Soon Annemarie is asked to go on a dangerous mission to save Ellen’s life.

review :

I remember reading Number the Stars years ago, back in middle school, and being vaguely bored by it. Maybe because I preferred to read books with more magic, mystery, and general mayhem in them. Somehow a story about true historical accounts, things that could be much scarier than fiction, didn’t phase me. I’m thinking that’s because my teacher didn’t take full advantage of the chance to fully teach me about this book and time period.

This is a book great for students who are just beginning to learn about what happened during WWII, specifically in Denmark with the Jewish population. Although the main character herself isn’t Jewish, her best friend is, and through her Annemarie begins to realize that not only is not everyone the same, but that she can make a difference in preventing others from getting hurt because of the decisions of those in power.

I really think that this is a book that should be spread, to those who are old enough to comprehend the subject and if its handled delicately. It was a terrible time period, but it’s important history, and I think this book stands out as one of the best works to teach about it.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Number the Stars is a children’s book you’ll never forget

  1. I’ve never read a Lois Lowry book, and I think I really need to rectify that!

    This book sounds incredibly heartbreaking, as most books that are set in this time period are, and I will have to try and see if I can find a copy to read.

    I think it is really important to keep the knowledge about what happened in WWII in the present, because I don’t think any of these stories should be forgotten – especially when, even if they’re fictional like this book, they are reminiscent of events that actually took place.

    I’m glad you re-read this one, and found that you liked it better the second time around, Kayla. Lovely review as always❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’re so good! The Giver is the best!

      This book is just as heartbreaking–well, more so, because it’s based on real events. I think it’s great that authors have been writing to younger audiences about important events like this because even though they’re terrible, it’s important to keep ourselves informed about history!

      Thanks for stopping by!🙂

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

