Children’s Book Chat: A Sick Day for Amos McGee

7268995

Lately I’ve needed to read several children’s picture books for school. Here I’ll jot down my thoughts about them, whether I’d recommend them or not, and if I’d have liked to see it in a classroom or as something for kids I know to read.

A Sick Day for Amos McGee by Philip C. Stead

-This book is interesting because the author’s wife, Erin, illustrated it for him.

-The illustrations are incredibly detailed using woodblock printing and pencil. Though they feel slightly old-fashioned, it kind of mirrors Amos and makes the animals especially adorable.

-There’s a little mouse and a little bird who appear in many of the pictures and aren’t part of the text, so kids will find it fun to try to spot them in all of the images.

-The text is very simple, but not dull enough to bore young readers/listeners.

-The premise is so cute, too, because the animals all leave to visit Amos when he’s too sick to visit them at the zoo. Their adventure is simple but just fantastical enough to be funny and cute.

I can definitely see why this is an award-winning children’s book and would get it myself to share with kids that I know. I feel like it’s one of those stories that you can read several times and notice different things about the incredibly detailed illustrations in every read.

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

