Reign of Shadows was a Rapunzel retelling that’s both amazing & disappointing

24657660

Reign of Shadows

Reign of Shadows #1

author : sophie jordan

pages :  [hardcover] 304

memorable quote :

Life is full of regrets.
They’ll cripple you if you let them.

favorite character : luna

summary :

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.

With lush writing and a star–crossed romance, Reign of Shadowsis Sophie Jordan at her best.

review :

There were some parts of this story that I loved so much. Parts where I wanted to toss the book in the air while I celebrated how wickedly awesome that new detail or plot point was. And then something would happen that would be utterly predictable, or just a little cringe-worthy, so, slowly, my enthusiasm waned.

So. Rapunzel is my favorite fairy tale, hands down. From the creepy old versions right up to Tangled, it’s my thing. I’m kind of even working on my own version of it.

Luna is awesome as a Rapunzel heroine. She can handle her own in any situation, even though she’s barely left her tower throughout her life. Basically, if I had to be stuck in this terrible world filled with a perpetual night, I’d want her as an ally because I’d probably get out of it alive. Unfortunately, as soon as tall and brooding Fowler showed up, there was insta-love all over the place. The kind where Fowler, in his half of the chapters, gets very angst-y about how he’s never going to even care for someone again, much less love them. You’ll see how well that turns out.

However, I did enjoy the dual narration. They each had their different life experiences in this horrible world so it was interesting to get a more complete view of it by cobbling together their thoughts and memories. But there were a few plot twists dealing with them that were so heavily foreshadowed, I was not surprised in the least. I was actually kind of surprised that I was right about what was going to happen because I was hoping I was being tricked, in some way.

The thing I have most of a problem with, I think, is that this is supposed to be a duology and it could all be one book. I reached the ending and feel like I didn’t get to the meat of Reign of Shadows yet. It still felt like an introduction to only the superficial problems this kingdom is facing. It makes me worried that too much is going to be packed into book two. The cliffhanger ending here is frustrating because it reads more like a chapter ending with a cliffhanger than an actual conclusion to a book.

I’m definitely going to read the sequel, just to see where things go, but I won’t be purchasing it for myself.

3/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Reign of Shadows was a Rapunzel retelling that’s both amazing & disappointing

  1. Oh, no. The premise of this book sounds SO GOOD, and yet it seems to be falling flat in execution D: Which sucks, because it really does sound awesome.

    I am becoming less and less tolerant of instalove, because I just feel like there is romance shoved in there to create an emotional connection between characters and therefore raise the stakes of what happens to them. I just wish there was more slowburn romances, because then the emotional connection is so much stronger! Sigh.

    It’s a shame about the fact that this seemed like an introduction to the actual book, rather than the first half of the story. It seems like that is happening a lot in YA at the moment, which is a bit worrying.

    I still like the sound of some aspects of this book, though, so I *might* pick it up one day.

    Great review, Kayla! Also, YAY for you writing a Rapunzel retelling – that is so awesome😀

    Like

    • That’s why it was disappointing me too! I expected a little more awesome. Instalove… used to work for me in some cases. I don’t even mind if it’s obvious they’ll get together, but the relationship definitely needs more build-up/romantic tension even then!

      Thanks for much! Hopefully I’ll be sharing more about my own soon😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

