DNF Review: A Girl’s Guide to Landing a Greek God by Bill Fuller

26404161

A Girl’s Guide to Landing a Greek God

author : bill fuller

pages : [paperback] 432

release date : april 8th 2016

summary :

When Angie’s big fat Greek wedding goes bust, her grandmother sends her on a trip to Greece with the instruction to set sail on a mysterious fishing boat that will take her to an uncharted island. Waiting for her at the dock is Milos, who’s charming and handsome and confesses he’s been crushing on her for years, even though he’s never met her. He also tells her he’s a descendant of the original Gods of Olympus, who are plotting their return to power.

Before she can say “Oh my God,” Angie is flying a winged horse alongside Milos and finding love in his arms. But there’s one little hitch: Milos’s elders are forcing him to marry a malevolent goddess named Electra to fulfill their plan. If Angie is to have any hope of hanging onto Milos, she’ll have to battle monsters, both reptilian and lipsticked; uncover secrets about her past; and go toe-to-toe with Zeus himself, whose recipe for world domination doesn’t call for a sassy girl from the outer boroughs.

review :

I downloaded a review copy of this book on Netgalley and am extremely grateful to Midnight Ink for approving my request. This in no way affected my review/opinions of the book.

I don’t think I’ve ever marked a book as DNF so early on in the story. I barely made it to 50 pages before I decided that A Girl’s Guide to Landing a Greek God wasn’t for me.

I was initially attracted to this book because the cover was awesome and I’m very interested in Greek myth; I love books about it and even took a course about it last semester. I’m all for modernizing these myths and making them more fun and accessible to people.

However . . . this book had a lot of problems for me. Maybe it stems from the fact that this is a man writing a “girl’s guide”. I’m all for authors writing from the viewpoint of someone completely different from who they are, but it has to be believable. You have to capture what it’s like to be a woman–and not only that, but a specific kind of woman, because Angie, like any character, is supposed to be unique. Instead she’s kind of all over the place. Here’s a line that I really had trouble with:

As Angie wound her way through the crowd, she found herself skipping.

Well, that was only one of the lines that took me out of the story. How old is Angie? Old enough to worry about marriage, kids, and ending up alone. Besides, in the context of this line, she isn’t even skipping toward anything fun. She’s just going to ask someone a question. Something else in the story that really knocked me out of the narrative was when Angie mentioned overhearing her grandmother having sex and just smiled about it. And wished that she had as many opportunities as her grandmother. No matter what your age, gender, or sex–who would really react like that?

In these 50 pages, the Greek God was only mysteriously alluded to a few times–and in all of them, he’s anxiously pining for the human he’s been obsessing over from afar. I didn’t stick with the book long enough to see why he started to watch her/want her so badly, out of these billions of humans, but . . I’m hoping it was a good reason.

I won’t be recommending this book, but maybe there’s a chance romance readers would be able to push through these pages to get to the bulk of the story. For me, and the reading goals I have for 2016, it just wasn’t worth continuing.

1/5 stars

4 thoughts on “DNF Review: A Girl’s Guide to Landing a Greek God by Bill Fuller

  1. I’m so sorry this book wasn’t for you!

    I always find myself scrutinising books written by guys that feature a female main character. Which may not be entirely fair, but I still do it anyway. It’s a shame that you felt like the author didn’t capture Angie very well.

    That scene with the grandmother sounds … weird. I don’t know if anyone would react in that way D:

    As for mythological retelling books, I feel like sometimes they are hit and miss for me. There are some that I’ve loved, and some that have fallen pretty flat. It sucks that this one was the latter for you!

    I hope your next read is better for you, lovely❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I definitely don’t recommend it. D: I’ve been feeling the same way about mythological retellings, lately–sometimes they’re amazing and sometimes I just wonder what they were thinking.

      I know, sometimes men can write female leads so well, so I TRY not to judge… but when the book started to feel like a miss for me, anyway, I couldn’t help but wonder if it did play a part, at least in this one.

      The grandmother scene was what really got to me. I don’t think anyone would want to hear anyone related to them getting into that, much less their grandmother… much less spend the time hearing that wishing that you had the same relationships your grandmother does!

      Thanks for reading🙂

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

