Marvel-ous Monday: Daredevil, Volume 1

12643015

Daredevil Volume 1

Series: Daredevil Vol. III #1

author : mark waid

illustrators : paolo rivera & marcos martin

pages : [hardcover] 152

summary :

THE DEVIL IS REBORN. RENEWED. RESURRECTED. With new enemies, new friends … and that same old “grinnin’ in the face of hell” attitude, the Man Without Fear is back in action and leading with his face! Mark Waid (AMAZING SPIDER-MAN, IRREDEEMABLE, RUSE) joins neo-legendary artists Paolo Rivera and Marcos Martin for a new spin on Daredevil that will leave you gasping for air. Having turned his world upside over the past several years, Matt Murdock realizes that justice may not be blind to his past and villains may not be the only ones looking for answers. Bring it on. if Matt Murdock could see what he was doing … he’d be terrified.

review :

I picked up this volume because I started to watch the Netflix series and honestly thought that this was going to be a new start to Daredevil–as in, from the beginning, not beginning years after pretty much everyone found out that Matt Murdock is Daredevil and he’s been doing his superhero/vigilante thing forever. So I’ll probably have to go backward and see if I can find anything else to read about him.

This volume wasn’t exactly boring, it was just . . . unimpressive. Some of the bad guys were interesting, some familiar superheroes showed up for little cameos, and I could follow everything that was going on in spite of my realizing that this isn’t an origin story (I’m new to comics, don’t judge me). Immediately after I finished, though, it was hard to remember much of what I’d read. It was fun while reading but isn’t anything lasting for me. Daredevil isn’t one of my favorite heroes and I can’t exactly pinpoint why.

I’d say to give this a try if you’re interested in other Marvel heroes, want to pick up something different, or have watched some of the show like I have. While I’m definitely going to continue the Netflix series, I’m not sure that I’ll be scrounging for more Daredevil comics until I find something to more solidly hold my interest.

3.5/5 stars

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

