Marvel-ous Mondays: Ms. Marvel Volume 1

20898019

Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal

author: g. willow wilson

illustrator : adrian alphona

pages : [paperback] 120

favorite character : kamala

memorable quote :

Who am I? It seems like an easy question. And then I realize.. Maybe what I said to those cops wasn’t a joke. Maybe the name belongs to whoever has the courage to fight.

summary :

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

It’s history in the making from acclaimed writer G. Willow Wilson (Air, Cairo) and beloved artist Adrian Alphona (RUNAWAYS)! Collecting MS. MARVEL (2014) #1-5 and material from ALL-NEW MARVEL NOW! POINT ONE #1.

review :

AHHHHHHHHH

Okay, so I may be super new to the world of graphic novels and comics but I cannot express how much I love this reboot of Ms. Marvel. Sure, I know nothing about the original or Captain Marvel but that just gives me plenty of room to learn.

Kamala Khan is an awkward fangirling teenager who wishes for superpowers and happens to get exactly what she’s wished for. And is awesome at it. I mean, this is her origin story so things don’t exactly go smoothly at first, especially when she thinks that she’s hallucinating and doesn’t realize that she actually has superpowers.

I loved reading about a teen hero more than I’d thought that I would. Kamala is so smart, witty, and brave–she needs to be brave even outside of the costume because so much about contemporary life for her as a Muslim is discussed. The cultural clash, the prejudice–it’s all here, a worry for her on top of all of the supervillains looking to stir things up in Jersey City.

I don’t want to give away too much because it’s her origin story, so there’s her whole life as a hero to explore and unfold after she finds her place in this universe. Suffice it to say that I immediately picked up all of the other volumes and am quickly devouring all of Ms. Marvel’s adventures. I can’t recommend this enough–I’m already in love with Kamala!

5/5 stars

 

One thought on “Marvel-ous Mondays: Ms. Marvel Volume 1

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

