The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan: Percy is back and I’M SO EXCITED

26252859

The Hidden Oracle

The Trials of Apollo #1

author : rick riordan

pages : [hardcover] 376

memorable quote :

Yep, that pretty much describes my life: because Poseidon.

favorite character : percy

summary :

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

review :

Rick Riordan has managed to create one of those worlds, and capture one of those literary voices, where I always find myself wondering if his new series will manage to captivate me or if it will disappoint. I have a good feeling that The Trials of Apollo (trilogy? series? I don’t even know how many books to anticipate anymore) is going to blow my mind.

The Hidden Oracle takes place after Riordan’s last book in the Heroes of Olympus series (which you should read if you haven’t yet!) and seems to take place parallel to his new Magnus Chase debut (Norse myth and equally awesome) if the hints Percy drops about Annabeth’s whereabouts fall into the right timeline.

Oh, yes. Did I just casually mention Percy? Because he’s back and better than ever. Actually, he’s back and scarily mature, because he needs to deal with terrifying things like SATs and Annabeth threatening his life if he dies while she isn’t around to save his butt. Apollo narrates the entire book, but Percy’s sass and mystifying ability to survive anything comes through better than ever. We also get to see familiar faces like Niko and Will who are incredibly adorable together.

As I mentioned, Apollo is the narrator. One thing that really stuck out to me is bisexual Apollo. I love that Riordan remained true to myth here, because some people don’t realize that most of the well-known gods have had their love affairs with both men and women (and more complicated mythical creatures, but I’m not even going to get into that). Apollo is turned mortal by Zeus for mysterious reasons, though of course Apollo insists that he’s done absolutely nothing wrong. But he soon finds himself as a mortal teenager, with plenty of hormones ramping up, and he manages to give a thorough assessment of which guys and gals he’d date (if he wasn’t so old–or young, now?) every time he encounters someone new in the book. Because of course Apollo is sure that any sane mortal would love to romance him.

I honestly thought that his ego was going to get in the way of me enjoying this book but it was more entertaining than anything else. New character Meg, on the other hand, took so long for me to get used to. For a majority of the book I felt like Apollo, wishing that she’d just flit away from the action. But I have a feeling I’ll like her more as she matures and grows throughout the series.

On a personal note, I was freaking out a little when I realized that one of the demigods in the book is named Kayla. She doesn’t have the biggest role in the world, but every time she popped up again my heart was happy to know that I have a namesake out there in the PJ universe.

I could ramble on about this book for ages, but suffice it to say that it was amazing. A little different from the other books, because there was so much character building there was a little less action. The action is definitely ramping up for even bigger and better trials to come!

5/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

