Marvel-ous Mondays: Spider-Gwen Volume 1

24550842

Spider-Gwen #1: Most Wanted?

author : jason latour

illustrator : robbi rodriguez

pages : [paperback] 112

favorite character : gwen

summary :

The breakout hit of the biggest Spider-Event of the century is taking the comics world by storm with her own series! Gwen Stacy is Spider-Woman, but you knew that already. What you DON’T know is what friends and foes are waiting for her in the aftermath of Spider-Verse! From the fan-favorite creative team that brought you Spider-Gwen’s origin story in EDGE OF SPIDER-VERSE, Jason Latour and Robbie Rodriguez!

COLLECTING: SPIDER-GWEN 1-5

review :

I picked up this volume because my first thought was what the heck happened to Peter Parker and my second thought was this could actually be really awesome. So I read it, even though I guess the real origin story here took place in a collection called Edge of Spider-Verse, which I’ll get my hands on next.

Gwen Stacy is an all-around badass here. She lives for her music, doesn’t take any crap from her friends while they’re bickering over the band, and has the best-kept secret around while she figures out her identity as Spider-Woman. Unfortunately, due to some tragic events in her origin story, the entire city hates her and the polite–including her police chief father–are aching to bring her in. Gwen’s torn between protecting herself and dropping her gig as Spider-Woman versus saving the city. I don’t think it’s too hard to figure out what she’s going to choose.

While this wasn’t my favorite, it really made me interested to read more of this story and also get back to read the origins of Gwen Stacy as Spider-Woman. I loved her spunk and could really relate to her conflict over wanting to admit what was happening to her to some of her closest friends and family, while simultaneously wanting to keep all of them safe. Her way of working around the law, while trying to prove that she was a hero and not a villain, was fun to see too.

I’d definitely recommend this!

4/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

