New Suicide Squad Volume 1: Pure Insanity

23012550

New Suicide Squad, Volume 1: Pure Insanity

author : sean ryan, jeremy roberts

pages : [paperback] 192

favorite character : harley quinn

summary :

Setting the world’s most dangerous super-criminals against the most insidious threats to national security: that’s the idea behind the elite black-ops unit officially designated as Task Force X. It’s perfect…on paper.

But the real world rarely goes according to plan. Threats evolve. Teammates turn on each other. Blood and betrayals flow like rivers. And that’s why Task Force X is better known as the Suicide Squad.

Vic Sage aims to change the equation. Replacing Amanda Waller as the puppet-master of Suicide Squad’s motley crew, he’s introducing wild cards like Deathstroke and the Joker’s Daughter to whip the existing team-Deadshot, Harley Quinn, and Black Manta-into shape. But the world’s deadliest assassin and the Clown Princess of Crime have ideas of their own…and no explosive implants to keep them in line.

Can this new Suicide Squad survive-or will it implode before it even begins?

Collects issues #1-8

review :

This was my first DC comic (in my foray into the world of superhero comics) and I have to say that it didn’t disappoint. Pretty much the only figure in the volume I recognized was Harley Quinn (from general popularity; I’ve never read anything with her in it myself). Plus, I know there’s a Suicide Squad movie coming out. But this is new Suicide Squad. (I have no idea what’s different between the two. The villains on the team?)

It was a lot of fun. Villains are a lot of fun, in general, to read about, and these are villains forced to get along with one another on dangerous missions where they’re very likely to die and, if they misbehave or run away, they’ll die anyway because of the bombs planted in their necks. Which is a disgusting and fascinating concept in itself. I loved reading about them bickering between one another because it added a humorous tone to the action-packed scenes. The conflict between Harley Quinn and Joker’s Daughter was both gruesome and intriguing. I mean, did Joker’s Daughter really find Joker’s face and then SEW IT OVER HER OWN?? This volume really made me want to do some research on these supervillains, so hopefully I’ll be reading more about them soon.

I also want to keep reading this series, so I’ll be picking up whatever other volumes are currently available. I want more drama between the villains, more dangerous missions. And there’s something mysterious (and possibly lethal) building in the office of supposed good guys who are sending out these villains, so I’m excited to see where things are going to go next.

4/5 stars

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

