The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman is AMAZING

18691781

The Graveyard Book

author : neil gaiman

pages : [paperback] 286

favorite character : nobody

memorable quote :

Face your life, its pain, its pleasure, leave no path untaken.

summary :

I’m so glad that I finally read this book. I’ve tried a few other books by Neil Gaiman in the past (Coraline, The Ocean at the End of the Lane) and really loved them, so I feel like he’s going to become one of my favorite authors. I actually already have another book of his to read now that I also fell in love with The Graveyard Book.

This book is written in a way that it could be enjoyed by younger readers. But, as I’ve always believed, it’s a sign of a great children’s story if it can be enjoyed by older generations, too. There was so much to this book–not just the creepy murderers and the paranormal elements–that I feel would most closely touch older audiences. There’s fear of being separated from a family, the adventure of growing up and coming into your own, and over all of that there lies the question of what happens to us after death. Even thoughThe Graveyard Book is filled with ghosts, there are still so many questions you’re left with as you’re piecing together this world. There are much stranger creatures out there besides the ghosts. In fact, those will start to look quite normal and natural compared to what Bod has to face.

Main character Nobody, or “Bod”, is just adorable. He grows up in the graveyard with all of the ghosts (and stranger creatures) to protect him from the mysterious man who murdered the rest of his family. I was torn between thinkingwow, that life is so cool and wow, Bod isn’t going to know ANYTHING if he ever leaves this place. It was breathtaking to see how unique his life was, how he loved learning about the ‘real world’ and the things that could only be taught in the graveyard. All of that compared to the rather mundane and boring world where people went on without knowing the existence of all of these magical things. The place his parents’ and sister’s murderer lurked, waiting for him.

I loved never being able to predict anything in this book. Bod’s little adventures are interspersed with bigger plot elements. He slowly explores the graveyard, as well as his personal limitations, and that teaches him things that will help him to survive against the forces that (for a reason that’s revealed at the end of the book) are out to kill him. I really wish that I could read more about him, now that the book is over. This book really captured my imagination so I feel like part of me is still stuck in that world.

I’d definitely recommend this book, to anyone. It’s full of creepy adventures, wonderful stories, and characters that are almost so interesting they pop off of the page.

2 thoughts on “The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman is AMAZING

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

