Cathy’s Ring concludes the Cathy Vickers Trilogy

5081991

Cathy’s Ring
Book 1: Cathy’s Book
Book 2: Cathy’s Key

author : sean stewart & jordan weissman

illustrator : cathy brigg

pages : [hardcover] 144

favorite character : cathy

summary :

Cathy cannot manage to find more than a few days to relax in her hectic (and mortal) life—she barely has time to put the mystery surrounding her father to rest before she finds herself targeted by a group of Ancestor Lu’s professional killers!Recognizing she is a serious threat to everyone in her life, Cathy makes plans to leave town. But her friends, Emma, Pete, Victor, and, surprisingly, Jun, unite to convince Cathy that they must finish Lu once and for all to have any chance at peace—mortal or immortal. In order to defeat Lu, the friends must come together in a way they never have before.

Meanwhile—unbeknownst to Cathy—Victor has made the ultimate sacrifice hoping it will bring him closer to a normal relationship with Cathy. But when Victor is seriously wounded and Cathy finds herself attracted to another mortal with similar feelings for her, Cathy’s world turns upside down and she is forced to make a decision about her future with Victor, while his life hangs by a thread. What will Cathy decide, and how will their epic battle with Lu play out? Find out in the newest adventure-packed installment of the Cathy story!

review :

I’m so sad to see this trilogy end. I mean, I know that the book has been out for a while, but it took me some time to finally get my hands on it. I loved the first two books of the Cathy Vickers trilogy so much that I wasn’t quite ready to get rid of this world or the characters in it.

Cathy’s Ring was a good end to it all. It wasn’t perfect, but it wasn’t exactly a total disappointment. I just felt like there could have been more action and intrigue for a book about immortals. Particularly because many powerful ones happen to want Cathy dead.

I loved how realistic she felt, though. She’s such a bad-ass character but obviously she didn’t know what she was getting herself into and having her life threatened is beginning to take its toll on her. Not only does she need to worry about her own life, she needs to worry about her family and friend. It’s beginning to break down her relationships with others–some of which weren’t so great to begin with–and Cathy needs to make some changes with herself in order to make sure that she won’t end up facing these threats alone.

This book is much shorter than the other two (which weren’t so long to start with) so maybe I’d have appreciated it a little more if there’d been more time for detail. And, y’know, more adventures. I did like that even though we’ll never quite know everything about the world of the immortals, because there’s a lot they don’t know about themselves, there was enough of a reveal to keep me intrigued.

I still want to recommend these books to people but I wish that I’d loved the conclusion more. It felt like a small step toward the ending I wanted, and there was enough left up in the air to make me feel like there could be another story told. Kind of a “where are they now” for these characters. I know I’m not going to get it, but some part of me wants to demand it anyway.

I love Cathy and her gang of unexpected allies. I love the interesting world that has been built up in these books. And I especially love the unique way in which they’re told, in journal entries soaked with the ink of Cathy’s doodles.

4/5 stars

 

 

One thought on “Cathy’s Ring concludes the Cathy Vickers Trilogy

  1. I’ve only recently seen this on Goodreads. It looks very different, making me wonder if it’s a good read. I appreciate your review on this. It really helps!

    Liked by 1 person

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

