Marvel-ous Monday: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 1

20405500

Guardians of the Galaxy: The Complete Collection Volume 1

author : dan abnett, andy lanning

pages : [paperback] 296

favorite character : quasar

summary :

With the fabric of the universe torn, all that stands between us and invading horrors is a team of cosmic misfits. Led by Star-Lord, the newly-minted Guardians of the Galaxy include a who’s who of the mightiest -and most bizarre – protectors the stars have ever seen! Rocket Raccoon, Drax the Destroyer, Groot, Gamora, Adam Warlock, Mantis, the all-new Quasar, Cosmo the telepathic space dog and more take on the universe’s most dangerous menaces…and have fun while doing it! COLLECTING:GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY (2008) 1-12

review :

I really, really enjoyed this volume–though I have to admit that there were some parts of it that I was confused by because issue #5 was printed twice instead of issue #4 being printed in my copy. Obviously I can’t fault the authors for that, but suddenly it did make much more sense to me why some things were happening out of nowhere.

Anyway, because this volume my only previous experience with Guardians of the Galaxy had been through the film (which I’d enjoyed a lot more than I’d expected). So I already knew some of the characters. Some of this mixed batch of heroes I’d never heard of before. That’s why I loved the mission logs that were included in the first few issues. It helped me to keep track of what everyone’s names were, their abilities, and their background (whether they were human or Kree or some mix of like three different species). That helped to clarify a lot of the confusion I was worried would pop up. I mean, this is cosmic stuff. It’s bound to get a little confusing when space/time is erupting in random fissures.

There was a lot going on in this volume. The Guardians pick a name for themselves, just at the beginning of their journey, and then everything seems to fall apart. There are threats to the universe and threats to the Guardians themselves. Nothing can be dealt with smoothly because there are always too many problems to face all at once. But it never became a jumbled mess and I liked the direction the series took. I particularly liked how unpredictable it was. I never knew what was going to happen next to any of the characters.

Another thing that I liked was the surprising mix of female characters. It was still male dominated, but coming from my knowledge of the movie and MCU Gamora, I was surprised to keep having these awesome women popping up.

I’m already putting the next volume on hold so that I can pick it up ASAP–I’ll definitely be recommending these comics.

4/5 stars

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

