Marvel-ous Mondays: “Civil War” was so stressful

91714

Civil War

author : mark millar

artist : steve mcniven

pages : [paperback] 208

favorite character : captain america

summary :

The landscape of the Marvel Universe is changing, and it’s time to choose: Whose side are you on? A conflict has been brewing from more than a year, threatening to pit friend against friend, brother against brother – and all it will take is a single misstep to cost thousands their lives and ignite the fuse.

Collecting Civil War #1-7.

review :

I can’t remember the last time that I was so stressed out reading a comic.

I mean, sure–I’ve seen the Civil War movie and loved it, but didn’t know how different it would be from the comic world. This was a much more intense version I think just because the comic could include so many more characters and concepts that wouldn’t have worked in the movie. Of course, it was slightly confusing to me because I didn’t know who some of the heroes were, but for the most part that was fine. I mean, who doesn’t know who Captain America and Iron Man are?

Captain America is one of my favorite heroes, which automatically made me want to take his side. I definitely did in the movie. This comic succeeded in making me see both sides of the argument more clearly and really stressed me when I thought that there was really no clean answer to the disagreement. Superheroes being registered and working for the government would probably keep less civilians in danger, make sure that there was less property damage, and generally keep people from getting too angry over the actions of these heroes. On the other hand, knowing their identities would put the heroes’ families in danger, it would take away their freedom, and as we’ve seen all too often in the Marvel universe when you have someone else telling you who the bad guys are, things can get corrupt real fast.

I flew through this volume because there was so much going on. Plot twists, trying to determine who would take what side. Also, surprising, I really liked Spiderman in this. For some reason I just haven’t been able to really get into him, but his role in this storyline was really interesting and I felt like it did a lot to show me who he is as a character.

I’d definitely recommend this volume. It’s fun. It’s different from anything that I’ve read so far. If you’re looking for action and suspense, you definitely need look no further.

5/5 stars

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

