DNF Review: Username: Evie was a hot mess of a graphic novel

25898265

Username: Evie

author : joe sugg

pages : [paperback] 192

summary :

Like anyone who feels as though they just don’t fit in, Evie dreams of a place of safety. When times are tough, all she wants is a chance to escape from reality and be herself.

Despite his failing health, Evie’s father comes close to creating such a virtual idyll. Passing away before it’s finished, he leaves her the key in the form of an app, and Evie finds herself transported to a world where the population is influenced by her personality. Everyone shines in her presence, until her devious cousin, Mallory, discovers the app… and the power to cause trouble in paradise.

review :

DNF 55 pages in.

Well. This was so disappointing. I picked this book up because I’ve been really into graphic novels and comics lately and this looked like a cool concept. Evie basically doesn’t fit into her real world so, before her father dies of a fatal illness, he creates a virtual world for her to live in where she can essentially make everyone positive and affect things around her.

To start, I’d like to say that I had no idea who Joe Sugg was or why he was creating a graphic novel. Apparently he’s a YouTube creator, which is cool. I love watching YouTube, but I’ve never watched him. I was thrown off, however, when I opened this graphic novel and the first thing it lists on the inside cover is the rest of the team behind Username: Evie. This is where I became really confused as to why Sugg’s name was the only one on the cover. He isn’t the illustrator or the writer. He’s merely the person who came up with the idea and characters and then let other people run with it to make it into a cohesive narrative. I think that’s probably why it turned out to be a bit of a mess. Knowing nothing about Sugg, I can assume that he’s passionate about the storyline, because he’s the one who thought up this world and Evie. But he isn’t the one who translated that world to words, or artwork, or even the coloring in the panels. This left everything feeling stiff and wrong. None of the characters speak the way that people would–I mean, even for a graphic novel. I know there’s some leeway. But these voices were so cardboard and awkward.

Also, for some reason Evie climbs into her fridge every time she’s anxious and throws all of the stuff (shelves included) onto the floor of the kitchen when she does this. And her dad does nothing about this? I mean, they must waste a lot of food.

I barely got into the part where Evie explores the world her father has created for her. I just wasn’t interested. I doubt that even a world like that could have gripped me.

I was also extremely confused about why everyone was so terrible to Evie even after she experiences personal tragedy because, y’know, her own cousin doesn’t even like her. And it seems like Evie has done nothing wrong? I can’t tell. I couldn’t tell most of her personality apart from her being “different”. A loner for . . . no real reason.

I won’t end up recommending this book to anyone.

1/5 stars

 

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

