Marvel-ous Mondays: Moon Girl and the Devil Dinosaur

27415869

Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur

author : amy reeder

illustrator : brandon montclare

favorite character : lunella

summary :

Lunella Lafayette is a preteen genius who wants to change the world, but lives in fear of the Inhuman genes inside her! Now, Lunella’s life is turned upside down when a red-scaled beast is teleported from the prehistoric past to a far-flung future we call…today! Together they’re the most Marvelous Team-Up of all — Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur! But will they be BFFs forever, or just until DD’s dinner time? And Lunella soon learns that there are other problems with having a titanic T-Rex as a pet in the modern-day Marvel Universe. School, for one. Monster hunters are another — especially when they’re the Totally Awesome Hulk! Then there’s the fact that everyone’s favorite dino didn’t journey through time alone. Beware the prehistoric savages known as the Killer-Folk — New York City’s deadliest tourists!

Collecting MOON GIRL AND DEVIL DINOSAUR #1-6.

review :

This volume was so, so cute! I think I’m in love with Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur’s relationship!

Lunella is exactly the kind of child I know I couldn’t deal with because she’s just too precocious, a little intense, and kind of tends to run full-throttle into a lot of danger. I can really understand why her parents want to keep her safe, ‘normal’, and close to home . . but I can also see why she’s frustrated by this. No one seems to fully understand her. They can’t treat her as a child because of her intellect but they also can’t treat her as an intellect because of her childhood. No one tries to see her as a whole instead of these separate pieces that make her Lunella.

She feels like one of those zany kids from those children’s movies who’re coming up with whacky inventions that will hilariously attack some bad guy. Except what sets her apart is that she’s so smart. She could easily take over the world, if she wanted to. Especially with a dinosaur pal by her side.

I don’t really know where Devil Dinosaur comes from. I don’t know if he was always a thing in the Marvel universe. But he’s so adorable around Lunella and even though he happens to get into a lot of fights, he’s only doing it for good. But dinosaurs are as easily misunderstood, too. Get it? That’s why they have to be BFFs.

I feel like this is the kind of volume that could be enjoyed by anyone. Kids would love it. I definitely loved it. I feel like people older than me would love it, too. It’s a really good story with a lot of heart and I know Lunella is going places. Especially with that ending. That was a really cruel ending because when will I get more?????

5/5 stars

 

2 thoughts on “Marvel-ous Mondays: Moon Girl and the Devil Dinosaur

  1. I have recently started reading graphic novels, and I am pretty much wanting to get my hands on them ALL. And this one sounds so cute! I don’t really like precocious children, but I think I could probably handle one in a graphic novel. Especially if there’s a dinosaur in it, too. I mean dinosaurs are AMAZING. And definitely need more love in the bookish world.

    I’m glad you enjoyed this one, Kayla, and I hope the wait for the next issue isn’t too long!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Honestly, for someone as smart as she is, who knows that she’s smart, she isn’t too bad. Because of the way people act around her, it becomes sort of understandable why her personality is the way it is. Plus the dinosaur is badass and adorable😀

      Like

I read, love, and respond to each and every one of your comments! Thank you for reading!

